We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Petite Chateau Inn, romantic, personable, pleasant - we got engaged there!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Amherst, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Le Petite Chateau Inn, romantic, personable, pleasant – we got engaged there!”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

On November 12th, 2009 I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a most unique, romantic, surprise culinary weekend, where I would then propose to her!
We enjoy cooking, eating and all kinds of culinary experiences and found the perfect culinary getaway in Hyde Park, N.Y….. Le Petite Chateau’s Culinary Getaway! I was warmly greeted on the phone by Valerie La Chatelaine, the owner of the Inn, who was most personable, accommodating and fun, as she helped plan our culinary getaway experience, but most importantly went above and beyond what was expected by providing terrific ideas on how she and her staff could support my plan to propose to my girlfriend.
It was the perfect, romantic, culinary getaway weekend! Our arrival at the quant Inn was certainly a pleasant surprise to her as we checked in just before noon time, into the Champagne Suite. Soon after we headed downstairs to the kitchen of Le Petite Chateau Inn for the start of our private , three course Chef series lunch (it was more like a three course dinner), that we helped prepare along side of Chef Michelle. Our menu consisted of preparing delicious lump crab cakes for an appetizer, Harvest salad with maple vinaigrette, pecan crusted chicken with pumpkin risotto, fabulous red wine hand selected by Valerie and finally chocolate mousse cake with genache for dessert.
How fun it was preparing all of these dishes with Chef Michelle and even better dining at our romantic table for two, in between preparing each delicious course.
What a surprise to both of us after returning to our beautiful Champagne suite, to find that our room was decorated with flowers, rose peddles on the bed, wine and fruit on an end table and a beautiful engagement cake (made by Chef Michelle), waiting for us on the fireplace mantle. Next to the cake, a mysterious box, with a ring and a magical moment at hand, as I proposed to my now finance! Of course that wasn’t all; Valerie arranged special reservations for us at a quiet table at the American Bounty, Culinary Institute of America, later that evening.
It was a beautiful, romantic, culinary getaway, engagement weekend that could not have turned out better, thanks so very much to all of the staff at Le Petite Chateau Inn!

Helpful?
1 Thank Culinarycouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
86
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth/Boston area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We've stayed here during an annual trade show the past two years running. That means arriving late at night after a hard days travel and/or work. Both years I've been saved from the brink of starvation & meltdown by food & wine readily available in the common area late at night. We're often in a rush in the morning so tempted to skip breakfast, but always this is the highlight of our day - wonderful food. Exotic but comforting and delicious, prepared fresh.

For over a decade previously we've stayed at both no-name and name brand hotels in the Hudson Valley and have felt they are all relatively horrible across the board. Le Petit Chateau is the first place we've felt excited to return to, in fact this year for the first time we're planning extra days for a mini vacation and we're bringing my partner's retired parents who've visited us there last year and liked the atmosphere. We like the "guest-house" feeling of being in a home and the privacy and quiet of a rural setting. Beats the clinical, public office building experience of the Holiday Inn we used to stay at. And we don't miss screaming kids running back and forth to a pool & loud drunk tourists banging on an ice machine by the elevator all night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPlaceLikeHomeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

My husband and I left the kids at home to enjoy a quiet, peaceful, romantic getaway in Hyde Park. We couldn't have found a better place to do this. Le Petit Chateau was centrally located. We were just down the road from the CIA where we enjoyed amazing dinners the 2 nights we were in the area. The Inn is only a 5 minute drive from historical sites like the Vanderbilt Mansion and the FDR National Library and Residence. Upon our arrival, Valerie welcomed us with a cheese & fruit tray and my husband and I proceeded to sit beside the pond, enjoying the peace & quiet with a bottle of wine. I have a hard time relaxing, but the Inn and it's surroundings made it easy. Breakfast was amazing! We've never had eggs that tasted so phenomenal. Jason, a CIA graduate himself, dazzled us with his creations. If you're a foodie, I would totally recommend Le Petit Chateau for it's convenience and hospitality. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

As long time fans of the CIA in Hyde Park, we were anxious to find a quiet place to stay nearby and enjoy an evening meal at the institute. We found Le Petit Chateau online and were intrigued that they had a recent graduate who would be preparing our breakfast. After talking to Valerie over the phone, we quickly made arrangements to arrive in a few days. Jason met us at the door and answered our many questions about his experiences at the culinary school and showed us around the house. We were even invited by another couple staying at the chateau to watch him prepare their specially arranged chef dinner. Our only disappointment was that our meal at the CIA that evening paled in comparison to the wonderful four course meal Jason created for them. Breakfast (prepared by another recent graduate) was incredible with an herb infused hollandaise that we will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Our stay at Le Petit Chateau was a restfull and pleasant experience. Quiet location, yet close to attractions. Clean, lots of hot water, helpfull staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and I went away for the first time without our 3.5 year old son. We had only one night and chose an Inn in Hyde Park. The room was great and our breakfast was made by students from the Culinary Institute. It was a great trip and we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I went to Le Petit Chateau a couple of weekends ago and we both agreed it was one of the best weekends away! It is very easy to get to from NYC and was only 2 hours away. The Inn itself is so cozy and beautiful! The staff is what makes it even better. Chef Michelle cooked us an amazing 4 course dinner Friday night. Valerie, who is the owner made us feel so comfortable and gave us a great recommendation of Twist for Saturday night. Both of them were very sweet!! We were only supposed to stay one night, but loved it so much we stayed two! You can't go wrong at Le Petit Chateau!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
3.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau Inn

Property: Le Petit Chateau Inn
Address: 39 W Dorsey Ln, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1884
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Petit Chateau Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing