We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This owner is the reason New Yorkers have the reputation of being rude.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The only two things that were accurate from the description on their website was the location to the Culinary Institute of America and the pictures of the rooms. Their claim that CIA chefs greet you and cook for you is bogus and when you complain that there are spiders and bugs in your room; that you can't even find a bottle of water much less the cheese plate in the "sitting room" where they were supposed to be and not even the owner, much less CIA chefs greet you when you arrive, you are asked to LEAVE! That's right. When I called the owner out on these items (had to call her on her cell cause she was no where to be found), she got extremely defensive and I was told that there are bugs and spiders in the room because it is the country and that I just wanted to complain so I should leave and go to the Holiday Inn down the street. Which I did and now I'm in dispute about her charging me for the room we did not use!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rb1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Le Petit Chateau Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

Valerie was friendly, but not overbearing. Showed us to our room, which was the Champagne Suite...cozy but clean, with a plush king size bed. The bathroom looked to be newly renovated and was very clean with a tub/shower combo. Valerie offered quick suggestions of places in the area all of which we enjoyed immensely: hiking at FDR at the Vanderbilt Mansions, lunch at the Hyde Park Brewing Co./Steakhouse...great salads and vegetarian options, don't let the name fool you, and dinner at Twist. The Inn is small and quaint, but we found it to be very clean. Breakfast was very tasty and there was a nice assortment of baked goodies, fruits, and a wonderful eggs benedict with asparagus. The beverage stations were a nice touch...wine, juices, teas, etc and a small plate of cheese and crackers left in the fridge for us to enjoy as we perused brochures for all the local activities while sitting in the cozy living room. The grounds are very pretty, but we had a lot of rain so we could not wander the property. We did enjoy a glass of wine on the porch while admiring the garden. Not inexpensive, but nothing in the area is.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOShh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Just returned from a quick trip away that included a night at Le Petit Chateau. We had a lovely and relaxing stay. The rooms are decorated in a charming French style with plenty of little touches that made us feel welcome - champagne in our room, homebaked cookies waiting in the common room. We tremendously enjoyed our gourmet cooking lesson over dinner with Chef Eric and highly recommend it as a fun way to spend an evening. Everything was delicious and Chef Eric made everything seem so easy. Breakfast too was a gourmet delight - although we were still too full from dinner to eat everything offered at breakfast. Do not be put off by the "pedestrian" appearance (as one prior reviewer noted). Although we admit to scratching our heads as we approached, once we entered Le Petit Chateau and were warmly welcomed, we knew we had made the right choice to stay there. The owner, Valerie, is vibrant and dynamic and takes such an interest in all of her guests - ensuring a delightful visit to Le Petit Chateau and the beautiful Hudson Valley. We'll definitely find a reason to return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is our third trip to Le Petit Chateau, we love it there. Valerie, the owner, is very helpful in planning your day trips to local wineries. The Inn is very homey and cozy, the bathrooms are all tumbled marble and rooms are spacious with fireplaces. Eric and Nick have prepared our breakfasts each time we have stayed there and they were always delicious with the freshest ingredients, including home grown veggies in the omelets which are awesome! Homemade muffins are to die for! Homemade jams and granola with yogurt - delicious too. Red and white wine with a cheese plate for each room is a very nice touch. Looking forward to a fourth trip there. Valerie also recommends great restaurants in the area for dinner. All in all, a relaxing, laid back place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louiseseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We just spent a great two nights at Valerie's B&B. The Inn is very convenient, most comfortable, and breakfast is magnificent: poached eggs with chipotle and sun-dried tomatoes, fresh fruit, cider, and bottomless pots of strong coffee. Dinner recommendation for Twist was spot-on. (Yes, we'd seen the earlier review -- the restaurant is in a strip mall, but the food and the service are flawless, much better than CIA.)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My daughter was accepted to the CIA which was right down the road from the Inn. The convenience to everything was great. I loved that this was a French setting and the view from the wonderful dining room was beautiful. A pond with ducks and flowers everywhere. The chefs are awesome and would make a gormet breakfast every day. We had cheese and crackers every night we arrived back at the Inn. Not familiar with the area, the owner was very helpful with directions, even offered to drive us to the train station when we wanted to visit NYC. Our room was filled with antique furniture and it felt just like home. The soaps and fresh flowers in the room were so exotic. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landdhedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This inn would be more appealing if the owner invested more into the property. Given the price charged for a room ($200 plus), the ambience is very pedestrian. The pictures on the website do not accurately depict the property or setting. It is not really a "country inn", but off a busy road, with little ambience on the property. We have been at many inns in France, and there is nothing "French" about this place. If the room cost was in the $125 range, it would be reflective of the value received. Rooms are clean, and spacious. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
3.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
352 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
268 reviews
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
610 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau Inn

Address: 39 W Dorsey Ln, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1884
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: $155 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Petit Chateau Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing