We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, hospitality, good advice, and great breakfasts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Arlington
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Charm, hospitality, good advice, and great breakfasts.”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We just spent a great two nights at Valerie's B&B. The Inn is very convenient, most comfortable, and breakfast is magnificent: poached eggs with chipotle and sun-dried tomatoes, fresh fruit, cider, and bottomless pots of strong coffee. Dinner recommendation for Twist was spot-on. (Yes, we'd seen the earlier review -- the restaurant is in a strip mall, but the food and the service are flawless, much better than CIA.)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
86
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cohutta, GA
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My daughter was accepted to the CIA which was right down the road from the Inn. The convenience to everything was great. I loved that this was a French setting and the view from the wonderful dining room was beautiful. A pond with ducks and flowers everywhere. The chefs are awesome and would make a gormet breakfast every day. We had cheese and crackers every night we arrived back at the Inn. Not familiar with the area, the owner was very helpful with directions, even offered to drive us to the train station when we wanted to visit NYC. Our room was filled with antique furniture and it felt just like home. The soaps and fresh flowers in the room were so exotic. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landdhedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This inn would be more appealing if the owner invested more into the property. Given the price charged for a room ($200 plus), the ambience is very pedestrian. The pictures on the website do not accurately depict the property or setting. It is not really a "country inn", but off a busy road, with little ambience on the property. We have been at many inns in France, and there is nothing "French" about this place. If the room cost was in the $125 range, it would be reflective of the value received. Rooms are clean, and spacious. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

My wife and I truely enjoyed our experience during our two night
stay at the LePetite Chateau Inn. Our hostess and chef were extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions about sites to see and places to dine. The rooms were comfortable and spacious as well as private. Our room included a gas fireplace which was a nice touch. In the evenings we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese in the common area. The mornings started off with an outstanding breakfast prepared by the Inn chef. Our dinner reservations at the Culinary Institute were made by our hostess. We will most definately make a return visist here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tartan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This bed and breakfast is a REALLY NICE place to stay. It is located just a few blocks from the CIA. It is spacious and comfortably furnished AND the breakfasts are delicious. Our experience has turned us away from staying at chain motels whenever possible!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMKPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2009

I knew when my girlfriend and I were going to go on vacation it would be fun but Le Petit Chateau completely made the trip. The owner couldn't be more nice and friendly as well as providing fun places to go see and things to do. Having never been to Hyde Park they arranged transportation and helped us decide what to do. When we return again there is really no other place i would want to or would ever think about going. Thanks again to everyone who works there and helped us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tburges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We recently stayed at Le Petit Chateau Inn while registering our son at CIA. Our visit was wonderful. Our hostess greeted us personally with a warm welcome and gave us a tour of the entire house. The circa 1900 home is very clean, cozy, comfortable and furnished with antiques. An apparent love of Paris abounds. There are gas fireplaces in each bedroom which are very easy to operate. It was very cold and we were reminded of our early childhood when our own bedrooms had fireplaces.

Each morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast prepared by Erik, a CIA chef, who arrives early and awakens us with great smells from the kitchen. He even carried our luggage and removed snow and ice from our car. He was especially kind to our son and talked with him about his years as a student at CIA.

Our son is 23 and loved his room, as well.

We would love to vacation there again. Much effort to detail and a dedicated owner who is passionate about her work was a refreshing and made our trip extra special.

We travel a lot and this Bed and Breakfast is five star, with very nice people caring for us. Valerie is planning further construction on the property, which will include disability facilities and green engineering -- the land and pond are beautiful. The owner is very much concerned about preserving the environment and knowledgeable about history in this gorgeous region of our country.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
3.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
590 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
5.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau Inn

Property: Le Petit Chateau Inn
Address: 39 W Dorsey Ln, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1884
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Petit Chateau Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing