We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Chateau Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the trailer park decor and the sump pump that went thump - thump- thump all night long - it was overpriced and under heated . So my advice is try another location. The only advantage is proximity to the Culinary Institute of America but you're better off at a budget motel. (I admit the breakfast buns were delicious).

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Goodness trailer decor! Well in the business of hospitality, whether it be restaurants or lodging, one has learned that you simply can't please everyone. The inn is quite lovely and it is warm and charming. We always show the guests how to regulate the thermostats to their comfort.

all the rooms upstairs have cozy working fireplaces that are EXTREMELY warm. You simply have to turn them on.

We thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
85
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the fall for one night. It's a lovely house and in a great location for seeing the sites of Hyde Park. For $200+ a night after taxes though, it didn't seem worth it in our opinion.
Pros:
-Breakfast was fantastic (cook from the CIA)
-Rooms were comfortable
-Host was helpful
Cons:
-You get the feeling that she's just trying to make money off of you and ask you to pay with a check because of the additional fees. (For $207 a night, maybe concentrate on getting more business and less on your few guests using checks to pay).
-For the image she tries to convey of a real French home with luxuries, the inn skimps on some things (hand soap was like water, one-ply t-paper)
-Lack of professionalism when the host is talking with her accountant and staff about bills and such right next to you in the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Runner917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely, charming B&B. secluded and comfortable. Greatly located right across the street from the CIA! Perfect ! And very close to the town of rhinebeck & many historic landmarks. The breakfast was cooked & served by a former CIA student & chef. Delicious! If you want a sweet romantic getaway, this is it! Valerie, the owner, is sweet, charming and very accommodating. All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muppets13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the inn. I have always though Hyde park is centrally located to wonderful restaurants and sights! The Walkway across the Hudson is a mere three miles, FDR's libray one mile, Vanderbilt, three miles. Even to visit other villages, most are simply twenty minutes. And the wineries Oh la la!

Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my secon stay at Le Petit Chateau and as the first one, it did not disappoint. In an ideal location for visiting Culinary Institute of America, less than .5 miles away, it provides such treats as breakfast cooked by a CIA trained chef and a generous library that offers books on wine and cooking. Comfortable rooms with fireplace and bathroom amenities like L'Occitane hair products complete the setting for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you noticing our french shampoo! Really, L'Occitane is one of the best in the industry & I truly love their Provence products. Our chefs are professionals and strive to create a hearty farm to table breakfast every morning. I think one of the fun aspects of staying at Le Petit Chateau, is that you can actually interact with them in our open kitchen.

Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband is an Alumni at the Culinary Institute of America. Le Petit Chateau is less than 1 mile away. We have stayed here 4 times & have been happy each time. The rooms are clean & decorated beautifully. There is wine and cheese available when we arrive. A delicious breakfast is served each morning. Valerie is a wonderful hostess & always available for any questions. I highly recommend it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LIZPENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Le Petit Chateau Inn. We greatly appreciate our guests who return and know that this is the best compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were 4 couples who take annual outings to a different B&B once a year. Le Petit Chateau was the least inviting, least comfortable of all that we have visited and the breakfasts were totally unexceptional. Nobody greeted us on arrival & the laminated room descriptions with names taped to each room seemed to indicate this was the way the inn customarily "greeted" its guests. There were ample snacks left out & in the fridge but when we returned from dinner, nothing had been cleaned up or removed. We are all in our 70's and the couch in the common room sloped down and was hard to get up from. The rooms had virtually no drawers for clothes and at least one of the bathrooms (in the $250/night room!) was small & offered no convenient place to put toiletries. The rooms lacked charm and were furnished with porch furniture and odd pieces that looked as though they were picked up at garage sales. There was very little difference between the $185/night and $250/night room and both amounts seemed too $ for any of the 4 rooms. The breakfast fruit was wonderful but the rest of the meal was ordinary and unexciting. This B&B had none of the charm we were accustomed to, when we left we still didn't even know who owned the B&B and all 8 of us were very disappointed.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms was particularly comfortable or charming and feel that - at $185...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Owner at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Shame on you for fibbing about our inn! First dear traveler, let me share some really nice aspects of our inn:

We allow guests to check-in anytime after 11:00 (Which means you might not see us when you arrive, but you will see us throughout the day for certain!!)

We serve adult refreshments and wonderful cheese and fruit plates.

Our chefs are professionals. Everything we prepare for the guests is from local farms. When you stay at Le Petit Chateau, you are supporting local farms right here in Dutchess County.

The FULLL PRIVATE baths in EVERY ROOM are tiled in marvelous earthy italian tumbled tile.

All the rooms have fresh flowers grown in our vegetable and flower garden

All the rooms have cozy, comfortable beds and furniture, beautiful views of the two acre pond or the pine forest


Now as to NOT knowing who the owner was...(tsk what a fib!!)... that was ME the owner, who arrived at 6 pm (late) to greet all of the four couples who were sitting in our very cozy and comfortable sitting room, enjoying their highballs and cocktails from their own traveling bar... I apologized for the extreme delay due to horrendous traffic on Route 9 and Route 9G. ( A fatal traffic accident, which I did not share them because why share such sad news,..)

That was me, the owner. La Chatelaine, who explained that the traffic was so bad that I suggested that you folks leave half an hour early for your dinner reservation that I, the owner, La Chatelaine (whom you spent hours talking to) made for you folks.

That was me, the owner, who discussed at length, the next morning, your plans for the day.

That was me, the owner, La Chatelaine, who made dinner reservations for you that evening...

As we are a Bed & Breakfast, we leave around 6 - 7pm in the evening after tidiyng the sitting rooms, kitchen etc. If guests return later that evenig and leave their empty cocktail glasses and bottles of booze , MORE dirty dishes in the sitting room, I agree, it is unpleasant to see that.

Our chefs arrived at 6:30 and THEN cleaned up again for this particular group..

I suggest to any traveler: when you stay at a Bed & Breakfast that does not offer 24 hour conceirge service: simply take your dirty dishes to the kitchen.. Tres simple!

(And if you can't remember who the host is, perhaps cut back on the imbibing..)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great Inn located within minutes of CIA, and only a short ride to FDR attractions. Valerie is a great Inn keeper, and the team she has working with her are very personable, and helpful when it came time to plan our days. Food was delicious, and rooms are updated and clean. We wil visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagne53, Manager at Le Petit Chateau Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We do take pride in our modern amenities and small touches at the inn. All the rooms have FULL PRIVATE BATHS, with italian tumble tile, etc. As it is now fall, we have cozy working fireplaces . Fall foliage is just beginning. Our breakfasts are hearty and from local farms. Our hospitality is warm and inviting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
3.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau Inn

Property: Le Petit Chateau Inn
Address: 39 W Dorsey Ln, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1884
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Petit Chateau Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing