We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(New Paltz)
$76
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie(Poughkeepsie)
$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
239
35
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
35
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsenglish countryroosevelt roomacross the streetvanderbilt mansionhudson valleycookiestuscany roomculinary institutemetro roomwonderful hostsbreakfast was deliciouscommon areasfamily stylesitting roompoached peargreat room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 286 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

My daughter and I recently enjoyed a two night stay at Journey Inn. What a convenient location for the many wonderful sights to see & things to do in Hyde Park and the Hudson Valley. There is plenty of parking and the grounds are lovely. The house is beautifully decorated and works so well as an Inn. We stayed in the Roosevelt Room which has twin beds and french doors that made the room feel bright and airy. The private bath across the hall is large and not at all inconvenient.

Valerie, the Innkeeper, and Christine, her assistant, made us feel so welcome and encouraged us to use the common rooms and enjoyed the coffee, tea, cold beverages, cookies and chocolates that are available 24 hours a day in the den - a very comfortable den! We even used the living room to do yoga in the mornings before breakfast. The dining room is lovely and the gourmet breakfasts were outstanding. When we checked in we mentioned in passing that this was a birthday trip so you can imagine my surprise and delight when Christine brought my breakfast with a candle in it and encourage everyone to sing Happy Birthday to me! How sweet and thoughtful of her! And we were lucky to be with a great group of visitors who joined in the singing and fun!

This is definitely one of the nicest inns we’ve stayed in. Top marks on all counts!!! We’re looking forward to returning here, perhaps for a family reunion!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank CeciliaPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie V, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

It is always so nice when mothers and daughters come visit us. We love to create memories for you - especially on special occasions such as your birthday. So glad that you were able to do your yoga in our den - we've had Tibetan monks do their meditation there and other guests have done yoga on our balcony! We do hope you come back for your family reunion - we have had many reunions here and we enjoy seeing everyone have such a great time together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Innkeeper Valerie and her assistant Kim went out of their way to make us welcome. Easy access from here to Hyde Park sights--across the street from Vanderbilt mansion and down the road from the Roosevelt homes. The inn is in a large house built in the 1960's that is very well maintained. There is a range of rooms from small rooms with baths across the hall to suites with a separate sitting area. Breakfast is in one sitting at 8:30 and was very good. The only downside is that we were in the only downstairs room and there was some noise from other guests coming in late and then watching TV in the adjoining lounge area. Recommend choosing an upstairs room if you want quiet.

Room Tip: Look at the web site carefully for room features. Only the Vitoria room is on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank williedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie V, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our location to see the sites. We want all our guests to have a perfect stay, so sorry that the den was a bit noisy that evening - we did have a group and they were somewhat joyful that night. We do rarely have problems with noise. We are glad that it did not disturb you too much. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

The Journey Inn is a spacious and welcoming inn in the Hudson Valley. Eric and Valerie are wonderful hosts who offer great suggestions for area wine tasting, dining and sightseeing.

It's located near major attractions - directly across the street from the Vanderbilt Mansion and a stone's throw away from the Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum and the Culinary Institute of America. Also not far is the town of Rhinebeck--a culinary destination that foodies will love.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie V, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to share our ideas on what to see in the area. There is so much to do here beyond the wonderful Roosevelt and Vanderbilt experiences. And so much within a 1/2 hour of the Inn. Wonderful old homes with views of the Hudson, gardens, wineries, antique shops, hiking, biking - and more. Our location in the northern part of Hyde Park makes it very convenient to see both Hyde Park and Rhinebeck during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Valerie and Eric the owners could not have been nicer.
Pros: nicely decorated house with loads of interesting books and there were coffee, cookies and Lindt chocolates all available for guests in the lounge.
Valerie and Eric the hosts are very friendly and make you feel at home they are both very friendly. The location is excellent to visit the Roosevelt house and Vanderbilt mansion and there are good restaurants close by - we went to the local diner.
Cons: we stayed in the Roosevelt room which was small and although it is on the website please note the bathroom is across the hall for this room which we did not like but appreciate it is my fault for not paying enough attention. The breakfast is at 8.30 and you sit around a dining room table with other guests which we were fine with but may not be to everyone's taste, we were fortunate we had a very nice group of people to talk to and an enjoyable conversation. The breakfast was nice and plenty for me but those with larger appetites may have wanted more.
Overall a good place to stay

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shazzavitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie V, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you got to spend time in our common areas, relaxing with our books, newspapers, WiFi, TV. We want our Inn to feel homey and comfortable. Sorry you did not see that the Roosevelt room had a private bath in the hall - we do try and make sure it is very clear to all potential guests. That room is a good option for price-conscious travelers. Our family-style breakfasts are a hallmark of our Inn - and the conversations around the table are always delightful. We make sure our future guests know that this is how we serve breakfast as we know it is not to everyone's taste. We like that our guests get to know each other during breakfast and many friendships are formed. We serve a pretty hearty breakfast - and that morning we did have many dietary requests - with some folks specifically requesting a small breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to offer your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We spent 3 nights at the very beautiful Journey Inn in Hyde Park. The location is just where you want to be, close to the FDR house, ValKill and the Vanderbilt mansion. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, full of helpful information and suggestions on where to eat, what to see, best routes to take.

The Inn is gorgeous and so comfortable. There are 2 big living areas downstairs which guests may use. Our room was spotlessly clean. Our bathroom was not just clean, it was absolutely sparkling! I should point out that none of the rooms have a TV set or even a radio. This did not bother us, but it might be a problem for potential guests. But there is a TV in the public rooms if you are really desperate.

The wifi worked well. Our bed was very comfortable. I forgot to bring folding chairs for our picnic dinner at the Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival, so Val lent me their own chairs. How nice is that? And typical of the warm feeling that you will find at this lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie V, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you! So nice to have you and your friends for 3 nights. We enjoy seeing friends travelling together. Just a quick clarification for potential guests - we DO have TVs in 3 rooms - if that is important to your stay - just ask for those rooms. And our WiFi is strong enough to stream shows on a tablet or other devices. We were happy to lend you our chairs for the terrific Shakespeare Festival nearby - and glad you asked. We often lend chairs to our guests who want to picnic across the street at the Vanderbilt Estate also. We work hard to keep our Inn clean - and we are sooo glad you noticed. So happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews