We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing details”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Starting with the wonderfull innkeepers Diane and Michelle, then the beatifull house, every detail is well thought. The food was really good!!! We spent two nights and didn't want to leave. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVHguatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
148
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the inn for our wedding anniversary and it was also the first time away from our toddler son. Michelle and Diane greeted us on arrival and made us feel so welcome. Throughout our stay they were a wealth of information on the area (restaurants, activities, directions). We stayed in the newest room, the Outback room. It had a fridge and tv. The bathroom was a bit dated but immaculate, as was the rest of the house and our room. It is also very quiet at the inn even though it was a full house when we stayed. There were books, magazines, and papers to look at, and they also had cards and board games. Breakfast was at 8:30 each morning and it was nice to talk to the other guests.

Overall this is a fanastic area to visit, we did the FDR house/library, Vanderbilt mansion, the CIA, a day at a spa, and went to Rhinebeck (Calico) and Tivoli (santa Fe)to eat. There is a lot to offer in this area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Everything about this B&B was nice. Just some quick notes:

Room -- We paid $150 for Kyoto Room. This room was nice and very clean and well furnished. Double french doors to outside provided a nice breeze, but you can't exit (no deck). Bathroom was private but across the hall. It was very large and clean and everything in tip top shape, but a little dated.

Location/grounds -- Right across street from Vanderbilt and off main road, so convenient. Need to drive to everything else, but all drives are short. Rhinebeck is a 15 minute drive and is very cute with good places to eat. Need to drive to get to most places in Hyde Park, but drives are 5 minutes. 40 minute drive to Monhok

Breakfast -- Only one serving, family style, at 8:30. Food is good but not gourmet. Served buffet style.

Hosts -- Unbelievably nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Useful_Info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The price was okay had two rooms with four people, the place was very comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and cordial.

I was very dissappointed with the english style breakfast. For the close to four hundred dollars we paid, one potatoe and egg casserole with few slices of bread. They had cereals, nothing was displayed we had to ask. We have been to many B&B's, I was suprised with their english style breakfast spread.

  • Liked — close to vanderbilt mansion, FDR house and presidentail library and CIA
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparkles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2008

For my boyfriend's 40th birthday I suprised him with a weekend in the Hudson Valley and chose Journey Inn because of the favorable reviews. He and I were just delighted!! The inn is warm and comfortable and Michelle and Diane were as friendly as they were knowledgeable about area attractions and restaurants. We stayed in the English Garden suite which while very spacious, felt cozy and inviting. The breakfast we ate each morning was scrumptious and would rival a meal produced by the Culinary Institute down the road. Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our stay and are already planning a return trip next year.

  • Liked — Warm and comfortable with a balance between privacy and mingling.
  • Disliked — No television in room, but not that disappointed.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Just spent a midweek getaway with my husband in the Hudson Valley. I came upon this B&B online and it looked charming in the pictures. It is more than charming once you arrive. Diane and Michelle are the innkeepers/owners and wonderful hostesses. They provided excellent suggestions for antiqueing, restaurants and fun things to do. They were very warm and inviting as is their home. The English Country Suite was charming and had a lovely sitting area for relaxing. This is one of the cleanest B&Bs I've been to--the room and bathroom were spotless. I was very impressed with the cleanliness as well as the attention to details in decorating the room. The breakfast room and den area were very warm and inviting. A great place to relax, have a cup of tea, meet other guests, or look through menus of the area restaurants. Many excellent choices--the Artist's Palate was great as was the CIA. A great place for a culinary get away! I would highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — The room, breakfast and innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelnescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2007

My wife and I made our first trip to the Hudson River Valley area last week. The beauty of the area, especially in autumn, and the history represented there made it one of our better trips ever. Adding to our enjoyment was the inviting atmosphere and ambiance we found at The Journey Inn. It is a class operation and epitomizes what b&b's are all about.
Sisters Dianne and Michelle spread their warm hospitality and culinary skills to create a "homey" atmosphere, from the introductory tour to the large dining table set for family-style gourmet breakfasts and featuring the bounty of the fall harvest. To top it all off, they presented guests with a packet of their favorite recipes, before we could even ask for them!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank cdhredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park
#2 of 4 in Hyde Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Sherwood Pl, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing