We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room, loved the hosts and loved the breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved the room, loved the hosts and loved the breakfasts!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Where do I start here? I can't say enough good things about this place. It is owned by two sisters who put every bit of sweat into making you feel welcome, the rooms clean and comfortable and the place feeling like home. My girlfriend and I were greeted at the door and shown around the place by the very lovely owners who were just nice in every way. When we walked in, the place was spotless, from top to bottom and it pretty much stayed that way all weekend. We stayed in the Vanderbilt Suite, which was great to spread for spreading out our stuff (or if there's more than two of you), impeccably clean and had an unbelievably comfortable double bed with the softest pillows and the highest thread count sheets I could imagine. It is also not next to any other rooms so we didn't hear anything but the trains at night and those don't bother me. It has its own bathroom too that you don't have to walk across the hall to enter. The two sisters give you very personalized service to everyone, bend over backwards to make sure you're comfortable and are extremely helpful in telling you about things to do in the area, shopping and restaurants. There is always coffee and tea available and delicious homemade cookies too! Each morning you get a different, home cooked breakfast - no store bought foods here and they serve you one course, and the rest is buffet style. If only I could eat like that every morning! Just remember, this isn't a hotel, and it is a smaller B&B with specific rules about when you can check in and out, make payment and eat breakfast (always at the same time), so be prepared to adjust your routine somewhat if you're the type that sleeps in late every day (not a criticism, just an observation). Considering its location, the level of personalized service you get, the unbelievable breakfasts and how nice the rooms are, the price is about right. If you go to Hyde Park, stay here at least one time instead of the many run-of-the-mill hotels in the area - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: I liked the Vanderbilt Suite because it is not next to any other room, and I can be rather sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caj111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
After reading your review, we asked the same question…”where do we start?” Thank you for taking your time to share with others about your stay with us. Even after all these years as innkeepers, it is still always interesting to see what truly is important to guests. We have always believed that you must first start with clean and then all else will follow. We will make sure we convey to our cleaning help your appreciation of their hard work.
A 7 room B&B is a good size to be able to give attention to all of our guests but at the same time it also affords our guests privacy between the 2 large and comfortable public places.
We never know who we will be welcoming through our front door, this time it was you when we opened the door…and what a wonderful time we had meeting the both of you! Happy Thanksgiving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
150
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights recently and loved it. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and informative, and Hyde Park was a really interesting place to stay. My only quibble was that our bathroom, while large and with a full bath as well as a shower, was not ensuite but across the corridor. It was not a major problem but unusual in a B&B of this high calibre. However we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We couldn’t agree more that Hyde Park is the place to stay….. not that we are biased in any way! The four of you were full of enthusiasm and took full advantage of your time in our area; no moss grew under your feet. Please accept our apology for any discomfort you experienced, had we known of your desire for an ensuite bath with a tub, we would have offered you The Outback Room. We look forward to seeing all of you again, there is so much more for you to discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. Diana and Michele made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful in planning our visits to Hyde Park, Top Cottage, The Vanderbilt Mansion and the Culinary Institute. The room was charming, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty. The location is perfect for touring in the area. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is so much fun for us to help our guests plan their time with us. Then we have just as much fun listening to how their day went! Hopefully it is full of adventure, fun & laughter. We are very appreciative of your kind words. Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A cute house across the beautiful Vanderbilt Mansion. Diana and Michele make you feel so comfortable with their hospitality and personality. Great gourmet breakfast to start the day and plenty information from the housekeepers in order to enjoy your stay and the wonderful Hudson valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garaulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are thrilled that you felt so at home during your stay with us. We hope our interpretation of your room, The Vanderbilt Suite, fared well to the “real thing” across the street. We wish you a Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
284 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

When I travel I want everything to be as easy as possible because traveling can oftentimes be difficult and tiring as you know. This B&B is centrally located to everything Hyde Park, NY has to offer. This includes the Roosevelt sites, the Eveready Diner, the Culinary School and the Vanderbilt Mansion (right across the street)!

The house is very pretty on the outside and cozy on the inside. The breakfasts are more than adequate and the cookies throughout the day are scrumptious! Our room and bathroom were not overly large, but they were definitely adequate for our needs and the bed was VERY comfortable. We even got a cookbook as a little parting gift!

The two sisters who run the B&B are very helpful! If it hadn't been for them, we wouldn't have visited Top Cottage (one of the Roosevelt sites) and would have missed out on one of our favorite excursions. They also suggested booking very early in order to eat at the Culinary School - we were so glad we did, because many people who didn't know about the early booking requirement missed out.

Some things to keep in mind when visiting:
a) Breakfast is included in the room charge but everyone has to eat it at the same time at 8:30am. We enjoyed this as we got to talk to other guests and wanted an early start to the day. However there may be some folks who don't want to get up that early or don't really want to interact.
b) There are no TVs in the rooms. There is one TV downstairs and as everyone in the B&B has access to it, you may not be able to watch what you want to watch. When we were there, no one watched TV. They all read (great library by the way), did puzzles, or played games (provided). If you want to watch a special program or see the news, this may be a problem for you (depending on who is visiting at the time).
c) We stayed on the second floor. Our luggage had to be taken upstairs by hand - there didn't appear to be an elevator. If you need something handicap accessible, this could be a problem for you.
d) We had to pay half down when booking and half when we left. Again, this was no problem for us, but some people may have a problem with paying for something they haven't experienced yet.

I don't think you will be disappointed if you stay here. The food is good, the beds are comfortable, the owners are helpful, and all the sight-seeing is very close. We felt very happy to have found such a GREAT B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IL-Snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Wow, thank you for the time and thought you gave to your review, we truly are impressed! We are very happy that you seemed to have thoroughly enjoyed your time in Hyde Park. Top Cottage, FDR’s retreat is such a gem; we just wish it didn’t close for the season in November and not reopen till May. As you discovered, there is just too much to see and do in one visit, we hope you are thinking of returning to the Hudson Valley for another visit.
We appreciate your concern about our breakfast service. As you know, we state it on our website and explain it to guests when they call to make a reservation( I know we are so old-fashioned, no online reservations) and lastly we also have it in our confirmation letter, but as we all know, some things can never be said too often! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many B&Bs but this is by far the nicest and most welcoming. The proprietors Diane and Michele have created something special in this little gem across from the Vanderbilt Mansion. From the very first phone call, the warmth of their hospitality was apparent and the photos on this site don't even begin to capture how charming the house is. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Kyoto Room, which has a sense of Zen tranquility especially at night when the crickets chirp outside. The 8:30 am breakfasts are early but creative and delicious and get you up and out to enjoy the many sights to see in the area (the strong coffee helps, too!). Our room did not have TV but we did not miss it; the complimentary Wifi is strong and fast. Coffee, tea, and delicious home-baked cookies are available if you want a snack and there are plenty of interesting books on the area and the places the hosts have visited to enjoy. The prices are more than reasonable and the location is very convenient. I love this inn and look forward to coming back in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel11357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Oh my, you definitely know how to start our week off on the right note! Thank you for your very kind review, we truly do appreciate the time our guests take to let others know about us. We are most fortunate to have 2 large public rooms for our guests to enjoy after a day of exploring. They are great to relax in, read a great novel (or a good trashy book) and to mingle with the other guests. We are so looking forward to welcoming the both of you back! Have a great fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary there. Everything was perfect. Michele and Diane are lovely hosts. They made us feel really special- like we were part of their family. The coffee is strong and yummy- the grounds are beautiful- the rooms are spacious and comfortable. They helped us make all our reservations for the tours. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Outback room. On the 1st floor, bed was comfortable. It was quiet, bathroom was ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilliamss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We hope you don’t mind if we share that this was your 1st B&B experience and as such we are always hopeful to make converts to a better way to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting & talking with you. We hope your little “table gem” looks fabulous in your home....…though we thought it looked pretty good being stored in our living room during your stay. We wish you both a good school year and hope our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
331 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
110 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Sherwood Pl, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing