We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey Inn + Hudson Valley in October + good friends= Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Innkeepers Diane and Michele did indeed share with the next guests the lovely wishes from the California women who preceeded them in the Journey Inn's English Country Suite. Traveling from Minneapolis, we three close friends explored the history, bounty and charm of the Hudson Valley for the first time during a four day stay at the Inn. Some of our best memories are the group conversations around the delicious breakfasts, a feeling of" coming home" after a long day of touring and just the experience of being lovingly cared for by two thoughtful innkeepers. Ask and they will have an answer or get it quickly. As a librarian I appreciated the wide range of titles available to peruse in the sitting room including FDR's mother's Hyde Park book of housekeeping. From immaculate rooms, deep restful nights of sleep on just right beds, central valley location, to anticipating what the next morning's menu would bring- including local honey, breads and nasturtiums from the garden- it was all a delight. We were indeed reluctant to leave and pass on our best wishes to future guests of the Journey Inn -especially those fortunate enough to stay in the English Country Suite. I have never before taken taken the time to write a review of anything but wanted to express many thanks to Diane and Michele for their graciousness and kindness during our stay. It truly was a respite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

You have touched us with your kind words, we thank you. Many times guests will ask if we still enjoy innkeeping after all these many years and we always say “absolutely yes”!! How could we not, with guests like you and all that came before & hopefully after. The Hudson Valley is such a special place with its beauty, history, culture, walking trails & let’s not forget the fabulous food!! We are hoping we get to see you all again in the Hudson Valley, we will be keeping a light in the window for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We three girlfriends since the age of 12 decided to "get away" for a birthday celebration we refer to as the 50+15. Deciding upon the northeast in the fall to see the foliage for we Californians was the easy decision but then trying to find a good locale for three gals and not a romantic getaway seemed almost impossible until we found the Journey Inn in Hyde Park. What a find it was!!
Where to start? Just in making the reservation over the phone nine months previous to our stay, we knew we had found the right place. Diane was so welcoming and answered our myriad of questions so we knew in advance that the Journey Inn would be a place to remember.
Our hostesses, Diane and Michele, couldn't have been nicer and kinder in welcoming us to their inn. We immediately felt at home and were told of the huge number of interesting sites to visit in the area. We stayed for five nights and barely scratched the surface.
Our room - the English Country Suite has a king size bed and a captain's bed tucked away in what used to be a closet and is now a cozy corner complete with reading lamp. The bathroom was big with two areas with sinks, a large closet and drawers to store our toiletries. We had ample room to unpack and feel at home by using the dresser, night stands and closet. There is a sitting room as part of the bedroom area. The decor of our room and the whole house is charming and Diane and Michele are to be commended on their remodeling and decoration of a home that used to house eight children.
Breakfast at 8:30 had everyone gathered around a large dining table for enjoyable conversation and a chance to meet people from all over the United States. The food was delicious. Something different every day...Finnish pancake, sausage and lemon pound cake or Asparagus frittata, ham and homemade bread, etc. Filling but not stuffing. A good start to each day.
Diane and Michele are a wealth of information about the area. They have not only the knowledge at their fingertips but also supply you with brochures, a notebook of restaurant suggestions, and personal insights into places that might interest you.
The Culinary Institute of America is close by, the Vanderbilt mansion right across the street, the FDR house and library/museum a short distance away, as well as the charming town of Rhinebeck, the house of Martin Van Buren, Olana, and the fantastic walkway over the mid-Hudson, a railroad bridge re-used as a walkway that offers glorious views up and down the Hudson River Valley.
We had a wonderful time and five days flew by. We definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Your parting words to us, just the other day, were that you were going home to write a review….well you weren’t kidding….you are a woman of your word! The English Country Suite is such a great room for friends and/or couples who are staying several days. It is spacious and the 2 sink counters are great to spread your “stuff’ on. We could tell from the moment you arrived that you three, were here on a mission to see the Hudson Valley and you were true to your goal! We never know who will be coming in our front door to stay awhile; and it’s always an adventure to have the chance to meet and talk with people like yourselves from all around the country & world, we are most fortunate to be innkeepers.
As you were leaving we said 3 friends were arriving that day for the same room. You wished them as much fun as you three had and when they arrived we gave them your best wishes. They left today and they, like you, seemed so reluctant to leave, they were having just too much fun.
Thanks for taking the time to share your Hudson Valley sojourn with everyone. We do hope our paths will cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Journey Inn for three nights and would have loved to stay longer. It is right across from the Vanderbilt mansion. Diane and Michelle are wonderful cooks and so helpful with information about the area. While there be sure to dine at 2 Taste Food and Wine. The chef is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clhmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Don’t want to sound like we are playing favorites but our Texas guests are the best! We always tell guests the 1st trip to the Hudson Valley is a scouting trip take one of every brochure home with you and start planning your next trip! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Journey Inn is a comfortable inn with a great location, relaxed setting, terrific food and wonderful hosts! We stayed for three nights to do local day trips, and the location is central and accessible to visit all the area attractions. Diane and Michelle were gracious hosts - so friendly and warm, always helpful with expert advice and ideas. The food was delicious - these ladies are great cooks! - and the family style dining was friendly each morning. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Tuscany room was comfortable but next time I would go for a room that was slightly bigger, or perhap...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

We so enjoyed meeting the both of you and boy you two really packed a lot into your days when you were here. It is so much fun to prepare breakfast for such an appreciative audience and it always amazes us the diverse conservations around the breakfast table every day.
The Tuscany Room is one of our guests’ favorite rooms, it such a great color. If you are spending several days, the option of a larger room is a great suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed with my sister for 2 nights while we were in the Hudson River Valley touring historic houses. Diane & Michele were great hostesses and their Inn is a testament to pride in ownership.
We stayed in the Vanderbilt suite which had a queen bed and a single sleigh bed in a adjoining space. It had a nice private bath. Beds were very comfy.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to converse over coffee with fellow guests.
Location is a great base for day travels to historic homes, wineries and the cute towns that dot the river.
Thanks Diane & Michele.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

It is always fun when we have sisters traveling together( and brothers too). You filled your days exploring and your nights with dining, we hardly saw you. We look forward to seeing you again and as we said when you were leaving, there is so much more to see & do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I shared our 29th wedding anniversary with Diane and Michele the weekend of Sept. 10 -11, 2011. What a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and the atmosphere was quaint and quiet. We shared breakfast with Diane and Michele's family and they were the nicest people you could meet. The breakfast was superb and top notch cusine. It is in a perfect location to visit Vanderbilt Mansion and FDR's home and library. There are wineries in the area to visit and taste and a quick easy drive to Rhinebeck Aerodome to see the airshow. Lots of antique shops if you are interested and plenty of restaruants to choose from. Hudson Valley is truly beautiful and if you go be sure to walk on the pedestrian walkway over the Hudon River. Diane and Michele, thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mombassa Room and it is a little close to a road but the beds are so comfortable I...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

We were thrilled that you spent your very special anniversary with us @ Journey Inn. We also want to thank you for sharing our breakfast table with our “Southern family” who were our guests that weekend. They thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and our other guests. They were here a year ago & they commented both times on what interesting & friendly guests we have. We told them we believe we are the luckiest innkeepers because we always get the best guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We decided to base our Hudson River Valley trip in Hyde Park and found the Journey Inn through TripAdvisors and other travel guides. It was exactly as other travelers had described. The house is charming and very warm and welcoming and our room was comfortable with a good mattress and linens. The extra soft pillows in the closet were welcome. Our bath was very large for B&B standards. Diane and Michele, the owners, were very helpful in helping us prioritize our excursions and in suggesting restaurants. We underestimated the amount of time needed to see this area so we extended our stay one night. Our breakfasts were at 8:30 am at the dining table so we got to meet and chat with other guests from around the country. It was very interesting. Our hot breakfast was a bit different each morning with a sweet entree and usually a side of ham or sausage and a fruit first course. The clincher for my husband, though, were the homemade cookies left each afternoon for the guests. It was hard not to eat just one! At the end of the day a cup of coffee from their 1 cup coffee maker and these cookies took the edge off before dinner. Only suggestion would be to have a pen and notepad in the room and to offer more savory items for breakfast. We had such a nice stay that we would love to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extrastuff2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinn97, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast. The discussions around the breakfast table are generally a highlight for many of our guests. It is amazing how lively these conversations can be. We are thrilled that your husband so enjoyed the cookies. You could tell he looked forward to seeing which cookies we would put out each day.
We love your great suggestion for a pad & pen in the rooms. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
352 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
6.2 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Pl, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: $172 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing