We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just what you expect”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

You could see the edge of the FDR site from the front and we walked from there to Val Kil and Top Cottage (2.5 mi total; 5 mi round trip), and it's perfect for anyone that is staying for that purpose. Room was just what you'd expect - clean, quiet, standard. Breakfast included scrambled & hard-boiled eggs and sausage, which you don't see at many continental breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecesimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    133
    85
    26
    20
See reviews for
106
111
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I frequently attend a local holistic retreat. This is close to the retreat, convenient to restaurants, and affordable. All of what I needed. Coffee maker, free internet access, iron. Clean, nicely furnished. The staff is very accommodating and incredibly efficient, as well as pleasant and courteous.

Reasonably priced for this area and for what you get!

AND!!! Great diner two minutes north, McD's, Dunkin Donuts, Rite Aid 5-10 minutes north.

One downfall.... hallway style hotel, so, as in any hotel with interior room doors, you will hear other guests doors close!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl-at-Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

If you're going to visit the Culinary Institute of america, FDR & Vanderbilt homes, this location cannot be beat. Just a few minutes from all of them. Front desk day staff v. welcoming & efficient. Continental breakfast typical of budget motel. We asked for & got a room in the back, which is the quietest side of the motel. The room looked clean & typical of a budget place - absolutely no frills, small room and small bath. Nice view from room if we could see out. Smoky windows (as in permanent condensation) made seeing the foliage outside difficult. Two public access internet computers in cramped space near lobby. One big concern is safety. Both nights we parked in back of hotel because it was v. close to our room, and both nights there was a small group of kids hanging around in a dark corner eating, drinking beer & sometimes smoking dope. I wold not go back out to the car after dark. Just what was the night staff doing? They certainly were not watching the monitors scanning the parking lots. When we checked out & reported it to the desk staff they seemed surprised, genuinely concerned & a bit worried. I contacted corporate & they responded right away that the matter would be taken care of. Too bad - convenient location for touring.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union, nj
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Quality Inn, Hyde Park, NY Clean, very satisfactory accomodation

While visiting the historic sites and museims in Hyde Park we spent 2 nights at the Quality Inn. Our rooms had a good size TV, comfortable mattress and were basic but clean. We requested rooms on the second floor and although there were quite a lot of steps and no elevator, the rooms were toward the back of the hotel and it was very quiet at night. Also, instead of using the air conditioning, we were able to open the screened windows as the nights were cool and the air was fresh.

We chose this hotel because it was centrally located and close to the FDR House, Val-Kil, the CIA and other historic sites.
We were warmly greeted by the lovely lady at the front desk, Annsonja. She was consistently friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with juice, cereals,yogurt, bagels, danish, muffins,fruit, hard boiled eggs. A nice surprise was that the freshly brewed coffee and decaf was very good and was available 24 hours.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable mattress, able to open windows instead of a.c.
  • Disliked — A lot of steps to get to the 2nd fl
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We were up there primarily to visit the home of FDR and to take in the airshow at the Aerodrome in Rhinebeck.

Quality Inn, situated within walking distance of FDR's home was perfect for us. The room was clean and comfortable. What I noticed about this place was that the the people at the front desk were knowledgeable about the area and was very helpful with directions.

We had a great time with our 2 kids and would stay there again when we visit Dutchess County again.

The Eveready Diner, just a few minutes away by car, is the best and was recently featured on the Foodnetwork.

Also I have to tell you that my 7 year old daughter accidently left her blanket that she has had since birth and when we called about it they immediately mailed it out to us. They are efficient and kind.

Try the Quality Inn, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We booked this hotel sight unseen. When we arrived, the room we had been assigned smelled of cigarette smoke. The second room we were given also smelled.

We were told our credit card would not be charged because we were not satisfied with the rooms.

Low and below, there was the charge on the next month's bill. When I called to inquire about the charge, I was told we had to cancel 24 hours in advance.

So, don't book this hotel before you see the rooms.

  • Liked — Location- great location for Hyde Park
  • Disliked — Condition, Cigarette odor, Lack of Integrity of the Establishment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluejay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

The Quality Inn here is probably the best in town however it is very spartan. Clean rooms, friendly staff, thin towels and a basic complimentary breakfast is what you should expect. The facility is a bit dated and noisy with creaking floors above if you are on the ground floor.If you are looking for something newer try some of the chains just south of Poughkeepsie. I guess for the price and the location it is OK but that is about it.
On the plus side it is right across the street from the FDR estate as well as two miles from the Culinary Institue of America and the Vanderbuilt Estate.
For dining options "Twists" in town is simply fabulous as are the restaurants in the CIA.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Amenities
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
590 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Property: Quality Inn Hyde Park
Address: 4142 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing