We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Inn in Hyde Park was very satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Quality Inn, Hyde Park, NY Clean, very satisfactory accomodation

While visiting the historic sites and museims in Hyde Park we spent 2 nights at the Quality Inn. Our rooms had a good size TV, comfortable mattress and were basic but clean. We requested rooms on the second floor and although there were quite a lot of steps and no elevator, the rooms were toward the back of the hotel and it was very quiet at night. Also, instead of using the air conditioning, we were able to open the screened windows as the nights were cool and the air was fresh.

We chose this hotel because it was centrally located and close to the FDR House, Val-Kil, the CIA and other historic sites.
We were warmly greeted by the lovely lady at the front desk, Annsonja. She was consistently friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with juice, cereals,yogurt, bagels, danish, muffins,fruit, hard boiled eggs. A nice surprise was that the freshly brewed coffee and decaf was very good and was available 24 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2007

We were up there primarily to visit the home of FDR and to take in the airshow at the Aerodrome in Rhinebeck.

Quality Inn, situated within walking distance of FDR's home was perfect for us. The room was clean and comfortable. What I noticed about this place was that the the people at the front desk were knowledgeable about the area and was very helpful with directions.

We had a great time with our 2 kids and would stay there again when we visit Dutchess County again.

The Eveready Diner, just a few minutes away by car, is the best and was recently featured on the Foodnetwork.

Also I have to tell you that my 7 year old daughter accidently left her blanket that she has had since birth and when we called about it they immediately mailed it out to us. They are efficient and kind.

Try the Quality Inn, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We booked this hotel sight unseen. When we arrived, the room we had been assigned smelled of cigarette smoke. The second room we were given also smelled.

We were told our credit card would not be charged because we were not satisfied with the rooms.

Low and below, there was the charge on the next month's bill. When I called to inquire about the charge, I was told we had to cancel 24 hours in advance.

So, don't book this hotel before you see the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bluejay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

The Quality Inn here is probably the best in town however it is very spartan. Clean rooms, friendly staff, thin towels and a basic complimentary breakfast is what you should expect. The facility is a bit dated and noisy with creaking floors above if you are on the ground floor.If you are looking for something newer try some of the chains just south of Poughkeepsie. I guess for the price and the location it is OK but that is about it.
On the plus side it is right across the street from the FDR estate as well as two miles from the Culinary Institue of America and the Vanderbuilt Estate.
For dining options "Twists" in town is simply fabulous as are the restaurants in the CIA.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I needed an inexpensive room for an overnight stay and the Quality Inn was the perfect choice. The rate was reasonable, and i checked in with absolutely no effort whatsoever. The night clerk was young but very pleasant, although his ability to communicate in English seemed to be a bit limited. The room was clean and bright. Not a whole lot of ambiance, but it was perfectly acceptable. In the morning, the complimentary breakfast included hard boiled eggs which is always a plus for those of us who need a high protein start to the day. I will absolutely stay here the next time I visit Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Clean and comfortable. Staff helpful with restaurant recommendations. Free continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, fruit, cereal. Location was quiet. Everything basic but of decent quality. Overall I would consider it a good value for the money.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank J-girl225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This hotel was very clean, with only one issue: a very stained chair that should have been replaced. The room is very small for two adults, a preteen and a teenager, but would be good for two. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was okay: bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, two kinds of flake type cereal. The coffee was weak, however, and the white bread was rock hard stale. This hotel is very convenient for anyone visiting the FDR Presidential Home and Library, which I recommend highly. We ate dinner at the Hyde Park Brewery nearby. Overpriced, but good food. Problem is that there's not enough of it to justify the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jersey-ites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
359 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range: $82 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing