We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were going to the Dutchess County Fair in nearby Rhinebeck, so we stayed at the Quality Inn. I've been there once before, about three years ago. My expectations of a place like this are low--clean room and a comfortable place to sleep is all I want. If I wanted fro-fro's, I'd stay at the Beekman Arms. The property was just as nice as it was three years ago, with one odd change. We had a room with two double beds. The odd change was in the pillows. The beds had "regular" pillows the last time we were there. This time, there were three tiny square pillows on the bed, like Chicklet pillows. I went into the dresser to see if there were real pillows in there but no. It wasn't until after 11 pm that I realized the pillows were weird, and I wasn't going to go to the front desk to ask. If you are fussy about your pillows, this might be a deal breaker for you.
There was a small round table with a coffee maker on it and two chairs. (The chairs looked like someone had spilled coffee on them and really could use cleaning.) The water was plenty hot enough for a shower and the water pressure was good. The TV worked fine.
The free breakfast was quite good--scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, fruit, make your own waffle, bacon, cereal, bagels, bread, muffins. . .plenty to eat. I liked that they had breakfast until 11 a.m. There is a Dairy Queen and a diner nearby, and Coppola's Italian restaurant across the street.
As someone mentioned in another review, this place has no pool. For us, that didn't matter. The location really good. Quality Inn is near the Roosevelt House, Vanderbilt Mansion, and Rhinebeck (there's an aerodrome there) and the Fairgrounds are not far away. The people who work there are very friendly and helpful and will suggest things to do and see if you are not sure.
I would definitely stay there again the next time we were going to attend something at the Fairgrounds (there are events year round) or want to sight see in the area.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have heavy bags, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you had a good stay while you were in Hyde Park!

I am so sorry that you were not happy with the pillows in your room. We do have the Choice Hotel Brand approved pillows that they require us to have in each room. I do understand that they are smaller than pillows that you would have in your home. We do always have extra pillows at the front desk to give out to guests as needed.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to hosting you again!

Linda
Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Centrally located in a historic area, room was clean but the overall appearance was worn. Bathroom especially, it was clean but needs updating. No pool, might be a draw back for people with kids looking for a distraction once back to the motel for a day. TV reception on the flat screen was snow-free.
The staff was above average pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast was good.
Not really anything to do at the motel but fits the bill for the budget minded as a base of operations when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for the review! We are always happy to hear what our guests think about our facility and staff. I am glad to hear that our staff was pleasant and helpful! We hope to host you again for a future stay in Hyde Park!

Linda
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our stay at this Quality Inn was just perfect for us. The staff members were extremely courteous and helpful. Actually, they introduced us to activities we never anticipated, all of them nearby.

Thanks. We appreciate the "quality" in Quality.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be quite satisfactory. It appears to be a very quiet location in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VATraveler1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for the great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Dreary, depressing and overpriced. Trouble with cable, never fixed. They said the technician was supposed to have been there that day but didn't show up. Had to move to another room because of noisy neighbors. Look for other accommodations in the area. Needs to updated. Man at the desk moved us and was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Ask t be away from others, thin walls and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwell1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

I am so sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. I apologize for the issue that you had with the cable in your room. I am so happy to hear that our front desk associate was able to accommodate you by moving your room.

I do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future!

Linda
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here the night before going to a Yankee baseball game. The lobby area was very clean and the clerk was friendly while we checked in. It appeared that the room was recently renovated with new wallpaper and decorations. All the bedding appeared to be new as well and was very clean. The bathroom was clean and plenty of towels were provided.

We were only there for one night, but it was just what we needed - a clean, comfortable and quite place to get a good night's sleep before taking Metro North to the Yankee game.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for the review! I am so glad that you decided to stay in Hyde Park as a stop on your way to New York City. We are about 5 miles from the Metro-North Train station in Poughkeepsie so it is very convenient to get on the train for an hour and a half ride into Grand Central Station.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again as either a stop on your way to the city or to enjoy the historic town of Hyde Park.

Linda
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived for a two day stay and were warmly welcomed by the front desk. Our room was clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable and conveint to the CIA, FDR library and the Vanderbilt estate, all worth a visit. I know my husband and I will stay there when we return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbm1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here August 3-5 to visit family in the area. The hotel is small and relatively quiet. Beds were a little on the soft side, but the room was clean and comfortable. The only down side is the breakfast area in the lobby which is so small...it holds roughly 15 people and is almost impossible to move around. Good luck finding an empty chair.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knappsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
356 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
450 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Address: 4142 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range: $77 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing