We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Motels”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Love Motels”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Great motel within walking distance of the Vanderbilt Estate as well as shops in Hyde Park. Very clean, large rooms at a very reasonable rate. it includes breakfast at the "Coffee Shop" located on site. Fresh fruit, bagels, cereals, etc. for breakfast. One of those wonderful family owned motels you can only find in New England.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattyfabric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    144
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
94
163
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The check in went without a hitch, they were friendly and allowed us to check in early, although as it eneded up there were only 4 or 5 families staying. The hotel is the older motor court style where you park in front of your room and keys versus the newer electronic card ssytem is used. When I read the info sheet of the hotel, that should have warned me about the matresses, the info sheet said they had bed boards available for a firmer mattress. I could feel the springs in the mattress, my back still hurts. A decent sleep will win out over any of the other amenities when we travel. The size of the room was more than adequate, most hotels have gone to the shower rod that curves so you dont have the shower curtain clinging to you, not this hotel. The velour blankets on the bed had the nap worn off and were torn. The carpet looked relatively new.The room was clean, the towels were fairly large and fluflfy and an adequate supply of towels were provided. The continental breakfast was more than adequate, cereal , juice, bagels, donuts, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, you are given a key to the coffee room and can go and come as you wish. a nice variety of cereal , bagels and donuts were provided.

The hotel is convenient to the major attractions of the area.

The selection of hotels in the area is sparce and maybe compared to others in the area (which I did not stay at) this would be 5 star although I can not imagine another facility having bedding as uncomfortable, We did stay 2 nights rather than pick up and move to another facility for the 2nd night, so I guess, I am partially to blame for the bad back. I must admit that the mattresses should be in the hall of shame. I would not stay here again unless I heard that they upgraded their bedding and had quieter heat/ac units.

We did enjoy the attractions of the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbuster885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband and I traveled with friends. Each couple had our own rooms, very clean and spacious. The hotel proprietor and her daugher are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast in the cute "cafe" was just right. The cafe room is open 24 hours, access it with a key. It provides a nice area to relax if your partner wants to sleep in or take a nap. The inn is well located near all major attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcgnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

A motor-court type inn in a lovely town. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our welcome was warm and friendly. The owner's Corgi came out to say hello, much to our delight! We were also welcome to use the coffee shop any time, for free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and microwave pop corn. In the morning the coffee shop has fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, muffins, and donuts to help your self to. The owner told us about nearby places for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We booked a room at this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews and we were glad that we did. We were only there for 1 night and we didn't want to spend a fortune for a room . We booked the $99 double bed room. We thought the room was great. It was quite big, and very clean, the beds were comfortable, and there was heat !!!! It got quite cold that night. The bathroom was very clean and modern too.

It includes a Continental Breakfast in the attached little coffee shop which was very clean and comfortable as well. The breakfast includes donuts, bagles, english muffins, and cold cereal. There is also coffee, tea, milk and juice. The sign says that you can also go in the off hours and have tea or hot chocolate and microwave popcorn. We only dealt with the hotel staff during check-in and check-out, but they were very friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Hyde Park. The location to all the sites is perfect. You can't beat the value and the charm that this place has to offer. I had checked the prices of the other hotels and the reviews. The Quality Inn started at $125.00 and the other hotels while cheaper didn't get as many good reviews as "The Roosevelt Inn" did.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

While preparing for two-week historic sightseeing trip through New York and other states from Cleveland, OH area, decided to reserve room here after comparing and researching for stay along the western Catskill Mountains, northern Hudson River area. Wonderful location, within driving distance to many historical sites, and situated in clean, peaceful area. Owners of motel were very pleasant. Very nice, extra bonus feature is their breakfast bar room, which is off by itself and separated from motel lobby, and accessed by key given to motel guests. It made for a very pleasant and relaxing morning breakfast that was different from the usual hodge podge of people running to and fro through motel lobby while you're nibbling a bagel and sipping on some coffee. Very clean, comfortable and peaceful place and well worth your consideration if you value serenity over ornamentation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveCommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My family and I recently travelled to Hyde Park (from all over the US) for the funeral for our Dad. The innkeepers Karen (and her Mom) could not have been lovelier in making our stay manageable. I called about two days before coming in - didn't know how many or when everyone was coming in. Karen was totally flexible, moving us and our stuff around so we could fit. She grew up there, also, so knows the area and was able to recommend anything we needed: pizza, drugstore, you name it - she even had lawn chairs for us to use one night when we decided to go to the drive-in. The reason for our visit was sad but Karen made the lodging part convenient and easy.

Hotel is fine like everyone says on here - basic and very clean. They have this wonderful little "coffee shop" (complete with a counter and swinging stools) that is only for guests - breakfast is in there in the mornings and each guest has a key so you can use it at any time to make some tea or eat take out or work on your laptop or whatever. If you are visiting HP for the sites, this is a great location and there is a terrific coffee/lunch place just two blocks away called Cranberries (very California kinda place right in the middle of HP).

Karen and her Mom could not have been nicer. If you're going to HP, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
150 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing