We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different from the chains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Something different from the chains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for three night while in Hyde Park. Rooms are extremely clean and well appointed. Beds are comfortable and we heard no noises during the night. The coffee shop for breakfast is cute. Breakfast offerings are not extensive, but what they have is good. Bagels and donuts are fresh and come from Dunkin' Donuts. English muffins are Thomas whole grain. They have gluten free oatmeal with flax, cold cereals, good coffee, tea, and orange juice. There is microwave popcorn for snacks. Use your room key to enter at anytime day or night. The motel is convenient to all of the local attractions. If you want a pool and exercise room, you will have to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room which is larger than many motels have. It also has a sink in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    122
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
136
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from a great stay. A wonderful, small hotel. The room was quiet and very clean; even the top of the wardrobe had been recently dusted. The free evening popcorn and breakfast were a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Hyde Park. A really hidden gem. It's very clean and quiet. You even get a continental breakfast included in the price. My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights this past August. It's conveniently located on Route 9 in the heart of Hyde Park. Near FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt's homes and the Vanderbilt Mansion. Poughkeepsie is not far away. Lots of shopping opportunities are close by. I can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently with my mom on our way back to Rhode Island from Virginia. I know Hyde Park isn't necessarily en route between those two stops. I made it be! I had recently read the book "FDRs Funeral Train." (A recommended reading before you visit Hyde Park!) Needless to say, I was very interested in visiting FDRs house and museum, so hence the visit here.

When I was initially doing research about where to stay, I couldn't find any of the usual chain hotels. There were motels here and there, some with questionable reviews...then I stumbled upon a site for The Roosevelt Inn. At first, I thought just over $100 a night for a motel seemed a little pricey, then I thought, well, it is in NY, where prices tend to be up. The positive reviews I found online swayed me to making a reservation here, and I'm super glad I did!

The motel is quaint and immaculate! The rooms are VERY spacious, clean and comfortable.

You will be given a key to your door, and also to the coffee shop, where I could just LIVE. It's like an old diner, but you have access to it 24/7, if need be.

The hostess was accommodating and helpful with all of my questions.

The location is PERFECT for sightseeing in Hyde Park. On the very same street as the FDR home and museum, for example, and just down the street from a Stop & Shop grocery store and restaurants.

I would LOVE to come back to Hyde Park and stay for a week or more. Someday!

Will post reviews as soon as I can get to them in the near future of both the FDR home and museum and also the Walkway over the Hudson. In short... stay at The Roosevelt Inn, and make sure to get to both of those places!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyp814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this Inn in Hyde Park. We had a spacious, clean and comfortable room at what is really an older, but renovated motel. This is a family owned business and it shows that quality in a positive way. The breakfasts were a notch above what is offered in hotel chains and served in a small dining area which made it easy to talk with other guests. Very convenient to historic sites in the area and the Culinary Institute of America.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great little place. We got a "rustic" room -- mostly because we wanted a "classic" Hyde Park vacation feel. The room is great. It is cozy and clean with a pretty big bathroom. The wood paneling is very 40s/50s cool. The only drawback is that the motel is right on yhe highway so it's not really quiet if you sit outside but that's the motel experience... We like the Roosevelt Inn so much we're staying another night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

exceptionally clean! Motel-style, not an "Inn". Very quiet and comfortable. Nice layout with 2 queen beds, all ceramic bath with tub/shower and a separate sink/kitchenette area with mini fridge. Perfect breakfast with donuts, cereal, bagels and good coffee. Good Internet Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnyrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
5.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing