We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nicer Even The Second Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicer Even The Second Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed once again at the Roosevelt Inn. The last time was in May. This time we were clued into the "Coffee Shop" and the late-night goodies and satisfying breakfast treats. We ran into several guests who had never stayed there before and were also completely satisfied with their stay. The room we had was once again immaculate and very roomy. I especially like having two sink areas in the room (one in the bathroom and the other outside the bathroom). Direct TV afforded us plenty of channels to chose from. We know exactly where we will stay when we are back in the Hyde Park area. It is in a quite location, right on Rt. 9. It is perfectly located to all the area attractions. You will not be disappointed with your experience.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the second floor. If a guest has difficulty with stairs, ask for a 1st floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchrmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    125
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
141
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here with my young son in late July, 2012. We were part of a group bike tour and decided we wanted a night in a real bed, instead of tenting. :-)

Checkin was very quick and easy. As we had our bikes and associated equipment, we were allowed to store them overnight in their garage. The woman at the front desk was extremely cheerful and helpful.

The motel is located within convenient ( in our case ) biking distance from restaurants, a laundromat, the CIA, etc.

We stayed in one of the knotty pine rooms. While somewhat on the small side, it was comfortable. The days we stayed were extremely hot, so the A/C - which is not under your control - was on all the time, but had no issues with noise, etc. The beds were reasonably comfy.

The little coffee shop where they have a continental breakfast laid out was nice, and there was plenty to eat in the morning.

All in all, the room was fine, the staff was friendly, and it was conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Super friendly staff who gave us really helpful suggestions on where to eat...was a great ambassador for Hyde Park. Second floor room was very large with wi fi, fridge, microwave, hair dryer. We really liked having a second sink outside the bathroom. Very clean. The continental breakfast was a bonus. All in all excellent for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our 'Deluxe King' room was immaculately clean, with fresh furnishings, comfortable sitting area and very good bed. The room was really spacious with lots of room for suitcases and shopping. The included breakfast gave a substantial start to the day. LCD screens with good cable selection and included WiFi broadband were also appreciated.
FDR library and home, Val Kill, CIA restaurants, restaurants and antiques of Hyde Park are all within minutes of Roosevelt Inn.
A welcome relief from chain hotels.It shows that it it is a family run motel with the highest standards. Everyone was was warm, welcoming and helpful with info about the region.
,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a nice motel in the middle of Hyde Park, close to downtown. It is reasonably-priced, not fancy, but spotlessly clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

We stayed in the rustic portion of the motel, and you have no one above you in that section. You can hear through the walls, but most people were considerate. There were no individual heating controls in the rooms, so bring a sweater, if you need it.

We would stay here again and do recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

All the office staff (including the charming office dog) listened to my questions carefully without rushing me, and gave helpful answers & also other useful information about the hotel and area attractions. Free parking, too. Our room was attractive, spacious, well-furnished - including a variety of comfy bed coverings, working climate controls and enough lamps for all our reading & sleeping needs. Most importantly to us, it was VERY clean. Fresh coffee (and pastries for breakfast) is available 24/7 in the guests-only, serve-yourself cafe. because the Roosevelt is so centrally located, heartier fare is nearby.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be sure to ask for 1st floor if you really can't use stairs to 2nd floor. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USATravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Roosevelt Inn. The room (#2) was good sized, with a frig. Very good free breakfast in the coffee shop, with snacks and drinks available during the day. Friendly staff, and a very convenient location. You can walk to the Vanderbilt mansion and many restaurants. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLibertyvilleIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Rd, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing