We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a nice motel in the middle of Hyde Park, close to downtown. It is reasonably-priced, not fancy, but spotlessly clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

We stayed in the rustic portion of the motel, and you have no one above you in that section. You can hear through the walls, but most people were considerate. There were no individual heating controls in the rooms, so bring a sweater, if you need it.

We would stay here again and do recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    144
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
160
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

All the office staff (including the charming office dog) listened to my questions carefully without rushing me, and gave helpful answers & also other useful information about the hotel and area attractions. Free parking, too. Our room was attractive, spacious, well-furnished - including a variety of comfy bed coverings, working climate controls and enough lamps for all our reading & sleeping needs. Most importantly to us, it was VERY clean. Fresh coffee (and pastries for breakfast) is available 24/7 in the guests-only, serve-yourself cafe. because the Roosevelt is so centrally located, heartier fare is nearby.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be sure to ask for 1st floor if you really can't use stairs to 2nd floor. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USATravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville IL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Roosevelt Inn. The room (#2) was good sized, with a frig. Very good free breakfast in the coffee shop, with snacks and drinks available during the day. Friendly staff, and a very convenient location. You can walk to the Vanderbilt mansion and many restaurants. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLibertyvilleIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is a treasure! We stayed there over Columbus Day weekend. We checked in having booked it online, sight unseen. Excellent curb appeal and super-friendly owners. Their little Corgi was very hospitable also. The rates are reasonable, and include a continental breakfast and all day access to snacks in the coffee shop. We stayed in a deluxe room, which was recently renovated and immaculate. The mattresses were so soft that we did not want to leave in the morning. We absolutely cannot WAIT to stay here again. Next time we’re bringing friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Roosevelt Inn when we were touring Hyde Park. It was so nice not to stay in an impersonal chain. The management is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a delight --- a diner space at the motel has been turned into a self-serve breakfast room with juice, cereal, coffee, donuts, bagels, and even the New York Times! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a family weekend at nearby Marist College. What a pleasant surprise! Having stayed at some of the chain hotels down route 9 in Wappingers Falls and Fishkill on other visits, I think I would stay at the Roosevelt Inn again. It was closer than those other hotels and much more reasonably priced. Granted that the rooms are not the most modern or the newest. However, our room was clean and fairly large (we had a room with two full size beds). The beds and pillows were comfortable. There was a full bath room with its own sink as well as a vanity area outside the bathroom also with its own sink. The room had a small refrigerator and a large satellite t.v. There was breakfast in the morning consisting of bagels, donuts, fruit and cereal along with coffee and juice. There weren't any hot breakfast items or yogurt, so don't count on that. But the woman who checked us in when we arrived and the woman in the breakfast area were warm and friendly. I recommend the Roosevelt Inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoebeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found the Roosevelt Inn purely by accident but it is a gem! Family owned and operated, the Inn is not modern or fancy, but clean, comfortable,safe, and a great value for their pricing.. It is convenient to everything that Hyde Park has to offer.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpblade16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
423 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing