We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but very clean and comfortable”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic, but very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

If you're looking for something more than a clean, reasonably pleasant place to stay, you're not going to find it here. I actually ended up selecting it because of the fact it has mini-fridges in the rooms, and its important to me to be able to bring fruit, veggies, and yogurt to snack on. We usually stay at B&Bs but I don't like big breakfasts. The room was cleaned well and promptly after we left in the morning. There is a cute self-serve coffee shop on-site all guests get a key to. For breakfasts there are constantly replenished thermal containers of coffee and hot water, an assortment of cereals, toast, bagels, doughnuts, etc. This is included in the room price. We had minimal interaction with the staff, so I can't comment. My only complaint is that on their website, they claimed all rooms had new flat screen TVs. Ours had a tube TV that was as old as dirt, and worked about as well. I don't care about not having a state of the art TV, but I would like to be able to change the channel to watch the news. But overall,I'd stay here again. It was very clean and the room was decent size. Think circa 1960

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiblet93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    144
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
94
163
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this motel for three nights last week. The room was clean and spacious on the top floor.
The staff was very helpful with any questions about the area(thanks Karen!)
The "coffee" room was on the ground level and open from 7am to 10am for continental breakfast. Newspapers were also available to read here.
This facility is a motel from yesteryear yet very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent for touring the Vanderbilt Mansion and FDR's home, library as well as Val Kill and Top Cottage.
The Everready Diner just down the road in Hyde Park was excellent as well.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, NY
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A large group of us stayed here. The prices are fair, and the hotel is centrally located to the center of Hyde Park and Rhinebeck is a short drive from the hotel as well. The hotel and grounds were clean. We stayed in the family Suite and I was pleased with the accommodations that were offered by this room- 4 beds in total. 2 Twins in a separate room with its own door and lock. A large vanity in the the middle so that 2 people can get ready at once. And then 2 double size beds in the largest part of the room. A complimentary breakfast is offered right on the hotel ground from 7a-10a, the breakfast and the variety of teas are more than most breakfast offered when included in the price. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but the sleep was good and the rooms are clean!

Room Tip: if traveling with a family of 4 or 6 ask for the family suite, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wormer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very nice, no nonsense Inn. We were traveling with our bicycles and they put them in their garage for safekeeping. The cofeeshop was very clean and convenient. The deluxe room had been recently been refurbished. Very nice. We were visiting a friend who lived in Hyde Park. His family had been in town the week before and stayed at another local Inn. After visiting our room he wished his family had chosen the Roosevelt Inn instead.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauerkraut11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Staying at the Roosevelt Inn is, for us, a return to the kind of clean, well-kept, family-run motel that you just don't find much anymore. The prices are very reasonable, and the "Rustic" rooms (which we prefer) are charmingly old-fashioned. This is not a resort; but if you're looking for peace and quiet and a simple, clean, and welcoming room and breakfast to get you on your way in the morning, this is the place.

Room Tip: The Rustic rooms can accommodate no more than two people, but they also have more modern rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very nasty attitude towards guests. Not welcoming. There are lovely new hotels in poughkeepsie. Stay there. I have an indented finger from trying to change channels on the remote control. Granted not on vacation to watch TV but this is 2011 not 1960..

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teach1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hyannisport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a no frills hotel yet very clean and neat with some very nice amenities such as breakfast available in the cafe. The rates were very reasonable and it is located near many restaurants, sites to see such as the Vanderbilt Mansion (across the street) the Roosevelt Home and Val Kill down the street. All in all a very good place to stay. The staff was very friendly and the resident dog is so cute.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
150 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing