We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Lovely Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We received a weekend at Inn the Woods as an anniversary gift from my brother-in-law. We had a beautiful room (the Cliffside) with plenty of space and all the usual amenities. We also appreciated the extra touches…bottles of cold water in the in-room fridge, chocolates on the dresser, and pretty cut-crystal water glasses. The bed was really comfortable and it was a restful weekend. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfasts are terrific and Valerie is a font of knowledge when it comes to restaurants, sights, and local history. We have spent a lot of time in the area but we are already talking about the things we still haven't seen that we mustn't miss the next time. Though we have passed the colors of fall, the Hudson Valley is absolutely gorgeous and Inn the Woods is a perfect spot from which to explore! Thanks to Harrison and Valerie!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby_and_Rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so glad you Gift Certificate stay was special. Thank you for sharing your comfort, the little details we strive to add to your stay. Enjoyed you as much as you enjoyed us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We usually stay at Hilton properties but there wasn't one in Hyde Park. Since we wanted to see the CIA, FRD's summer home and Library, The Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt's National Historic Site we decided to stay at this B&B because it got so many good reviews. We were pleased that the reviews were right and our stay was very nice. We stayed in the room with the king bed. It was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The setting was also nice being in the woods with the quiet and beauty of the natural surroundings. Valerie our innkeeper made such wonderful breakfasts and would be very accommodating with certain requests. She was also very knowledgeable about Hyde Park and the surrounding areas.
Also the price was very reasonable compared to other B&B's in the areas. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Great that you took the time to share with others your recent stay. Love the fact that we were a pleasant surprise and that you felt our prices were a value for what is available in Hyde Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The secret to the perfection is Valerie, who makes sure that everything is wonderful for her guests. We enjoyed the entire experience: the cozy, quiet,comfortable room. The kind advise and help getting to know Hyde Park's attractions and eateries. And the breakfasts were the best ever. Homemade dishes that began the day on a happy and satisfied note.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O1Madi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Very kind words, thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Inn The Woods. Valerie's and Harrison's hospitality was (were?) among the best we've been offered at a B&B and the breakfasts WERE the best, bar none. The inn, itself is very comfortable, private, has free (and very good) WiFi, and yet is very close to CIA, the Vanderbilt National Historic Site, The FDR Historic (with Val-Kill) site, and other Hudson River attractions. It makes a terrific base of operations from which one can go exploring and in which one can relax after exploring.
Valerie, domestic goddess, that she is, grows a lot of the food and condiments and is knowledgeable about most of the local attractions. Harrison is interesting but we didn't get much chance to talk.
We highly recommend this B&B and we hope to come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce_Romoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing our close proximity to the local sites. Easy to be helpful when guests like yourselves are so nice. Funny to see in print my "domestic goddess" title. Hope you find your way back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years. This was the best experience for value, room and Valerie's wonderful breakfasts. Valerie is a foodie and prepares the breakfast based on your desires. Do yourself a favor and try this B&B the next time you are in Hyde Park. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always are grateful for you taking the time to share your visit with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently stayed at Inn the Woods in Hyde Park NY. We are new to the B&B experience and have always enjoyed the anonymity of a hotel, but wanted to see what we were missing. We still had our privacy, but our surroundings were very much like a good friend’s home. The difference was that we made new friends during breakfast that we otherwise would never have met. The Inn is clean, quiet and cozy, the food is wonderful, and the company was delightful. I especially enjoyed watching the wild birds at the feeders from their cozy front porch and walking through their beautiful garden, which was in full bloom. If you want to know more about what the area has to offer, the Inn keepers Valerie and Harry are knowledgeable and helpful in planning fun and interesting activities. Overall it was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. Thanks to our hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Very happy your first B&B experience was shared with us and that it was so positive. You were a pleasure to have and we hope you find your way back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hillary and I stayed in the Cliffside Room July 20 and 21. This was my first experience in a B&B and I enjoyed it very much. Room was very quiet, comfortable and clean. The owners, Valarie and Harry, were very friendly and helpful. Hillary brought up her bicycle to tour the area and Valarie gave her excellent advice on where to go and how to get there. Harry is a wonderful chef and the breakfasts were wonderful. We are looking forward to coming up again when the CIA is open

Room Tip: Cliffside room has a very comfortable king size bed and its own bathroom. Since it is at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Wonderful review, we thank you and are pleased your stay with us was a fun time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
9.1 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Relaxing outdoor whirlpool spa. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing