We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hillary and I stayed in the Cliffside Room July 20 and 21. This was my first experience in a B&B and I enjoyed it very much. Room was very quiet, comfortable and clean. The owners, Valarie and Harry, were very friendly and helpful. Hillary brought up her bicycle to tour the area and Valarie gave her excellent advice on where to go and how to get there. Harry is a wonderful chef and the breakfasts were wonderful. We are looking forward to coming up again when the CIA is open

Room Tip: Cliffside room has a very comfortable king size bed and its own bathroom. Since it is at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Wonderful review, we thank you and are pleased your stay with us was a fun time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This B&B is hosted by Valerie and Harry, who are kind, gracious hosts who run a fabulous kitchen. I stayed in the Woodview, which was really like staying in a bedroom in someone's private home, and I used the large clean bathroom one doorway away from me. Terry robes were provided.
Breakfasts were delightful, with homemade scones and muffins, an herb cheese omelette one morning, and homemade waffles the next, that smelled like heaven. Homegrown honey, local milk and butter, local grape juice, and homemade jams were part of the offerings.
Valerie was knowledgeable about the area, and provided maps and pamphlets. Ask her about the newspaper photo of her with Anna Roosevelt!
Inn the Woods was less than a 5 minute drive from Springwood/FDR Library.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. Thank you very much for sharing some of the details and how close we are to the FDR site. Hope you find your way back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a wonderful stay Inn the Woods! Stayed in the Cliffside room. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was convenient but off the beaten path. What really makes this place special are the owners. Valarie was great host. She was very friendly and accommodating. She really made sure that we were taken care of. She also knows a lot of about the area and gave us recommendations of things to do and see. Breakfast was delicious, a home cooked meal made especially for the guests. The fireplace was lit, there were candles on the table - all nice little touches. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemaps247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review. We are so gald you appreciated our "touches and that you will return to us for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Took advantage of the winter special, pay for one night, get the 2nd night free. Stayed in Cliffside room. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. There were little extras you don't always get: refrigerator with bottled water, robes, plenty of towels, a flashlight, ring holder, q -tips and cotton balls, matches and candles in the room. There is only a shower stall in this room, no tub, but for us, that was ok. The BEST was the breakfast. Served in the dining/sitting room with floor to ceiling windows and a warm fire in the fireplace. Homemade muffin, scone, multigrain toast, jams, cheese omelet, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea all presented on a well set table that gave you the feel of eating in an upscale restaurant Sunday morning was waffles with fresh whipped cream. different syrups, the apple cider syrup was so good. Started with a baked apple with homemade yogurt, scone and a muffin. Meant to take pictures, but the food was so incredible, I forgot.. Not to leave out, Valarie and Harry the owners and chefs and tourist guides. They were friendly, informative and made you feel comfortable. The location is perfect for seeing sights, FDR, Vanderbilt Houses, Walkway over the Hudson, Culinary Institute and many eating places around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing all the details of your recent stay with us. Happy to have you share about the breakfast setting and offerings, we enjoy making it the pleasant and relaxing time you experianced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Inn the Woods in Hyde Park, NY. The location was great, scenic and secluded, and yet close to everything in town. Hyde Park is a great place to visit, historic and interesting (allow at least 2 to 3 days). The Innkeepers were knowledgable, friendly and thoughtful. The hospitality was outstanding. Our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Amenities were excellent. The view of woods and cliffs was relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Always glad to read from guests that they enjoyed both the Inn and out touring. Thank you also for sharing that in order to fit everything in and relax while doing it, is to give themselves a 2-3 day getaway. Hope you can find time to visit us when the weather gets warm and everything turns green. Remember the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome will start their "dog fights" mid June...did you know you can even take a flight up in a Bi-plane?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Hudson Valley are delighted we stayed at Inn the Woods. The room was comfortable and well-stocked, and the food was incredible. The Inn is very close to the attractions and right off the main drag but, because it's nestled slightly back on a plot of woods, you certainly feel like you've left the city behind.

Valarie made us feel some comfortable and relaxed and provided excellent recommendations about what to do and where to eat. We'll definitely stay here again if we return to Hyde Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cliffside room, and it was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review and also for your purchase of both our Apple Cider Syrup and Raw Honey from our bees. We enjoyed having you stay and discovering Hyde Park. Hope you find the time to come again and expand your visit to more of the surronding activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in the treetop suite this past weekend. The hosts were friendly and courteous. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was spectacular. I will certainly be back in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAbergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking time to share your visit with others . Always a pleasure to serve friendly guests as yourselves. Hope you find time to visit us again.
Just a little reminder, starting in January we will again be featuring our 2nd night free Winter Special and it coinsides with the Culinary Institute of America's Pre-FIx menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
332 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing