We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Homey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Homey”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Took advantage of the winter special, pay for one night, get the 2nd night free. Stayed in Cliffside room. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. There were little extras you don't always get: refrigerator with bottled water, robes, plenty of towels, a flashlight, ring holder, q -tips and cotton balls, matches and candles in the room. There is only a shower stall in this room, no tub, but for us, that was ok. The BEST was the breakfast. Served in the dining/sitting room with floor to ceiling windows and a warm fire in the fireplace. Homemade muffin, scone, multigrain toast, jams, cheese omelet, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea all presented on a well set table that gave you the feel of eating in an upscale restaurant Sunday morning was waffles with fresh whipped cream. different syrups, the apple cider syrup was so good. Started with a baked apple with homemade yogurt, scone and a muffin. Meant to take pictures, but the food was so incredible, I forgot.. Not to leave out, Valarie and Harry the owners and chefs and tourist guides. They were friendly, informative and made you feel comfortable. The location is perfect for seeing sights, FDR, Vanderbilt Houses, Walkway over the Hudson, Culinary Institute and many eating places around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing all the details of your recent stay with us. Happy to have you share about the breakfast setting and offerings, we enjoy making it the pleasant and relaxing time you experianced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Inn the Woods in Hyde Park, NY. The location was great, scenic and secluded, and yet close to everything in town. Hyde Park is a great place to visit, historic and interesting (allow at least 2 to 3 days). The Innkeepers were knowledgable, friendly and thoughtful. The hospitality was outstanding. Our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Amenities were excellent. The view of woods and cliffs was relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Always glad to read from guests that they enjoyed both the Inn and out touring. Thank you also for sharing that in order to fit everything in and relax while doing it, is to give themselves a 2-3 day getaway. Hope you can find time to visit us when the weather gets warm and everything turns green. Remember the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome will start their "dog fights" mid June...did you know you can even take a flight up in a Bi-plane?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Hudson Valley are delighted we stayed at Inn the Woods. The room was comfortable and well-stocked, and the food was incredible. The Inn is very close to the attractions and right off the main drag but, because it's nestled slightly back on a plot of woods, you certainly feel like you've left the city behind.

Valarie made us feel some comfortable and relaxed and provided excellent recommendations about what to do and where to eat. We'll definitely stay here again if we return to Hyde Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cliffside room, and it was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review and also for your purchase of both our Apple Cider Syrup and Raw Honey from our bees. We enjoyed having you stay and discovering Hyde Park. Hope you find the time to come again and expand your visit to more of the surronding activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in the treetop suite this past weekend. The hosts were friendly and courteous. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was spectacular. I will certainly be back in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAbergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking time to share your visit with others . Always a pleasure to serve friendly guests as yourselves. Hope you find time to visit us again.
Just a little reminder, starting in January we will again be featuring our 2nd night free Winter Special and it coinsides with the Culinary Institute of America's Pre-FIx menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Treetop Suite in September, and it's my favorite room in any B&B... ever. Actually it feels more like an apartment than a room. It's on the 2nd floor and is very private- you have your own entrance from the outside, and there's a spiral staircase you can take down (inside the house) for breakfast. For 2 people it's alot of space (room can fit 4 people, there are 2 four-poster beds). There's a little private porch, with cute benches to sit on and enjoy the view of the woods. The suite has floor-to-ceiling windows, so that if you have all your shades up, you almost have a 360-degree view of the woods. It's actually incredible. I wish we had more than one night here- this is a room you can spend time in and enjoy, not just use for sleeping when you're out seeing sights. There's a small fridge and microwave, robes in the bathroom, 2 separate heat controls in the bathroom and main room (which is really nice because I like it really warm), a very nice shower with glass doors, a tv you can play DVDs and tapes in, and some games provided (like trivial pursuit). The breakfast was great. I hope to come again!

Room Tip: Highly recommend taking the upstairs treetop suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, for appreciating and sharing some of many special amenities found in our TreeTop Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I spent a night in Hyde Park and stayed at Inn the Woods. It was a wonderful stay. Valarie and Harry made us feel at home. Our room, the Cliffside Room, was very comfortable. Valarie made us an incredible breakfast, after first asking us whether there was anything we wouldn't eat. There was so much food that we didn't even think about having lunch that day. She was also very helpful with information about sightseeing in the area.The inn is tucked away on a quiet little road in the woods, but it's right off the main street and it wasn't hard to find. Our visit was short, but very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a beautiful location actually in the woods. We took the room upstairs which was more of a clean, quiet, beautifully furnished large suite. The two long walls are entirely glass with lovely views of the surrounding landscape. There are two large canopy beds with lots of seating and all possible amenities. Valerie, our hostess, could not have been more congenial. The breakfast was worthy of the nearby Culinary Institute. We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: This is a small place. If there are more than two in your party, you are limited to the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and hope yu will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing