We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect laid-back B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect laid-back B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Hudson Valley are delighted we stayed at Inn the Woods. The room was comfortable and well-stocked, and the food was incredible. The Inn is very close to the attractions and right off the main drag but, because it's nestled slightly back on a plot of woods, you certainly feel like you've left the city behind.

Valarie made us feel some comfortable and relaxed and provided excellent recommendations about what to do and where to eat. We'll definitely stay here again if we return to Hyde Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cliffside room, and it was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review and also for your purchase of both our Apple Cider Syrup and Raw Honey from our bees. We enjoyed having you stay and discovering Hyde Park. Hope you find the time to come again and expand your visit to more of the surronding activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in the treetop suite this past weekend. The hosts were friendly and courteous. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was spectacular. I will certainly be back in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAbergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking time to share your visit with others . Always a pleasure to serve friendly guests as yourselves. Hope you find time to visit us again.
Just a little reminder, starting in January we will again be featuring our 2nd night free Winter Special and it coinsides with the Culinary Institute of America's Pre-FIx menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Treetop Suite in September, and it's my favorite room in any B&B... ever. Actually it feels more like an apartment than a room. It's on the 2nd floor and is very private- you have your own entrance from the outside, and there's a spiral staircase you can take down (inside the house) for breakfast. For 2 people it's alot of space (room can fit 4 people, there are 2 four-poster beds). There's a little private porch, with cute benches to sit on and enjoy the view of the woods. The suite has floor-to-ceiling windows, so that if you have all your shades up, you almost have a 360-degree view of the woods. It's actually incredible. I wish we had more than one night here- this is a room you can spend time in and enjoy, not just use for sleeping when you're out seeing sights. There's a small fridge and microwave, robes in the bathroom, 2 separate heat controls in the bathroom and main room (which is really nice because I like it really warm), a very nice shower with glass doors, a tv you can play DVDs and tapes in, and some games provided (like trivial pursuit). The breakfast was great. I hope to come again!

Room Tip: Highly recommend taking the upstairs treetop suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, for appreciating and sharing some of many special amenities found in our TreeTop Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I spent a night in Hyde Park and stayed at Inn the Woods. It was a wonderful stay. Valarie and Harry made us feel at home. Our room, the Cliffside Room, was very comfortable. Valarie made us an incredible breakfast, after first asking us whether there was anything we wouldn't eat. There was so much food that we didn't even think about having lunch that day. She was also very helpful with information about sightseeing in the area.The inn is tucked away on a quiet little road in the woods, but it's right off the main street and it wasn't hard to find. Our visit was short, but very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a beautiful location actually in the woods. We took the room upstairs which was more of a clean, quiet, beautifully furnished large suite. The two long walls are entirely glass with lovely views of the surrounding landscape. There are two large canopy beds with lots of seating and all possible amenities. Valerie, our hostess, could not have been more congenial. The breakfast was worthy of the nearby Culinary Institute. We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: This is a small place. If there are more than two in your party, you are limited to the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review and hope yu will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 relaxing nights after visiting New York City. The contrast was amazing. This is one of the quietest, finest B&B's we have ever visited. We splurged on the Tree Top Suite (this area is not cheap,) and it was huge. Loved the privacy. The beds (2) & bedding were heavenly, there was a small well stocked kitchen with a high half frig loaded with bottled water (no extra charge) & everything else you would need to reheat leftovers. Valerie's delicious breakfasts were first class & very generous. She accomodates different diets, although we were not picky. The only tiny improvement needed is a new shower, which I was told will be forthcoming. Right now it's a plastic one that is a tight squeeze. There are a number of steps to get to the 2nd story, and an optional spiral staircase down to the dining room.
Be sure to visit the area museums, Walkway Over the Hudson & the CIA while in Hyde Park.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom, you'll need to ask for Tree Top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLightOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the great review, we do hope you will return as we have completed the TreeTop bath renovations. There is now a beautiful tiled frameless shower, glass topped sink and new water saving toilet creating a brighter more open bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights here in the Cliffside Room. The place itself was very comfortable and I was amazed that they had the amenities of a full service hotel (cable, private bathrooms, bottled water and robes). The breakfast was delicious with a different menu each day, which included freshly baked goods that were excellent, we actually took a muffin for the road. The room was incredibly comfortable and spotless and the property was very warm and welcoming.

As for the hosts, they were incredibly accommodating and gracious. We arrived late partially because our GPS was not being nice but they helped us with directions and kept the lights on for us. Valerie was great with recommendations on things to do and which restaurants to eat at. Oh and the location is unmatched, you are right in the heart of Hyde Park just off route 9, with easy access to Poughkeepsie and the other side of the Hudson. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Upstairs is a suite of rooms with a private bathroom and Cliffside has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hydetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay with us and others with this lovely review. It was our pleasue serving you and hope you to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Relaxing outdoor whirlpool spa. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing