We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best B&B's I have ever been to”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights here in the Cliffside Room. The place itself was very comfortable and I was amazed that they had the amenities of a full service hotel (cable, private bathrooms, bottled water and robes). The breakfast was delicious with a different menu each day, which included freshly baked goods that were excellent, we actually took a muffin for the road. The room was incredibly comfortable and spotless and the property was very warm and welcoming.

As for the hosts, they were incredibly accommodating and gracious. We arrived late partially because our GPS was not being nice but they helped us with directions and kept the lights on for us. Valerie was great with recommendations on things to do and which restaurants to eat at. Oh and the location is unmatched, you are right in the heart of Hyde Park just off route 9, with easy access to Poughkeepsie and the other side of the Hudson. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Upstairs is a suite of rooms with a private bathroom and Cliffside has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hydetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay with us and others with this lovely review. It was our pleasue serving you and hope you to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly owners who conscientiously provide a comfortable home away from home with all the amenities of a full service hotel. The room was the size of a small apartment with modern furnishings and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. They were justifiably proud of their breakfast offerings, which included lots of special, homemade gourmet flourishes. Delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent 4 nights here and were very impressed with the warmth and hospitality of the hosts. The location is beautiful, nestled in a quiet wooded area, but just minutes away from Hyde Park's historic sites. Our room, The " Cliff Room" was lovely with a view of a gorgeous cliff and woods. Breakfast each morning was definitely in the Escoffier style: house made yogurt, fresh pastry, fresh fruit, homemade sausage. Beautiful table setting ....every attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVaughn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Only two rooms, so very private. Good, large breakfast. Gregarious hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrklynTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie N, Innkeeper at Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with others. We do have three rooms total, only two have private ensuite bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We booked the last room, which had 2 twin beds and a shared bathroom down the hall. Neither of us expected the shared bath, but with that said, fluffy bath robes were conveniently hanging in the closet & not once did we bump into anyone else when using the bathroom. The room was small but comfortable and cozy. The owners were not there when we arrived, but returned our call within 20 or so minutes and were very apologetic. The place is peaceful and quiet. There was another couple and a large party booked at the same time, and we barely heard them our entire stay. Our room was near the kitchen and you could tell whoever was working in there made a real effort to do so as quietly as possible - which we appreciated! The working fireplace made the dining area welcoming (and even more cozy), and the hosts were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. One of their breakfast specialties, homemade sausage, was especially delicious. You sit at a table with other guests during breakfast - while we enjoyed chatting to the other couple there, if you're not into "communal" dining, this is something to keep in mind (there's a smattering of other restaurants in the area and I think you have some choice in when you dine). The Hudson Valley area is not cheap, particularly during autumn, but I think this place is a relatively better value than most.

Location-wise: You're just a stone's throw from the excellent Culinary Institute of America (book ahead! it's totally worth it!), the Vanderbilt Mansion, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's estate, a true-blue drive-in theater (open during the summer), and of course utterly gorgeous views of Hudson Valley.

Room Tip: Specify if you don't want a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We just spent two nights here with our 15 year old daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were in the Treetop room. Our first impression came from the relaxing sound of a nearby stream. We loved the sunlight that streams into the suite from all sides. It's great to have so much space. The fridge and microwave are nice to have to keep and warm up leftovers from eating out. It's also nice to be able to make a pot of coffee in the morning, to enjoy as you're getting ready for the day, or to savor in the afternoon on the covered balcony.

Valarie makes a wonderful breakfast, with Harrison’s homemade sausage and breads, homemade yogurt, homemade jams, and many other special touches. Plan on a late lunch since you won’t be hungry for hours. We especially enjoyed eating our breakfast next to the wood burning fireplace. This is a very nice, but unpretentious place run by very nice, but unpretentious people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffcoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We are so happy that we stayed at Inn The Woods. I surprised my wife with a trip to the Culinary Institute of America and randomly picked Inn The Woods because it looks so cosy in the pictures. My wife and I can't be more happy with the weekend we just had. We stayed in the Tree Top Suite which has it's own bathroom and panoramic views of the surrounding woods (TV too). The bed was so comfy and cosy. there was a sitting area and a kitchenette. We were impressed first by Valerie who met us on our way in and showed us around the room making sure that all of our needs were met. After traveling all day, it was nice to relax and get ready for our dinner at the CIA. I was surprised to see that in the cupboard, there was a container of freshly ground delicious coffee and quickly brewed a pot. In the morning when we went down for breakfast, we were totally amazed at the focus on details (polished glassware, fire burning in the fireplace, everything laid out beautifully). Valerie came in to meet us and explain our delicious meal which included a variety of home made pastries and this incredible cherry jam, an outstanding maine blueberry juice, etc. our breakfast on the first day was eggs benedict with an asiago cheese sauce that was totally gourmet! Valerie came out and we had a wonderful conversation. You can really tell that her heart is into everything she touches. Such a focus on locally grown and fresh home made everything. The next day was more of the same, but with freshly made turkey sausage and pumpkin waffles! WOW!!! We met Harrison Valerie's husband and still can't say enough about the wonderful family they are and the great time we had. We are already planning to go back in the spring! By the way, my wife is 8 months pregnant and was totally comfy in the soft pillow top bed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikemc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
360 reviews
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
281 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: $120 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing