We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose Bocuse”
Review of Bocuse Restaurant

Bocuse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bocuse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Choose Bocuse”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As denizens of the Hudson Valley since 1980,my spouse and I have had ample opportunity to dine at all of the Culinary Institute's restaurants and experience their evolution. We had always been underwhelmed by Bocuse's predecessor, L'Escoffier, which tended toward trendy without offering much in the way of classic French cuisine. In its present incarnation, Bocuse rises to lofty levels, with its weekday prix fix menu a veritable steal. As is our wont, we shared all our courses and both of us were overwhelmed by our selections. A cream of mussel soup was a succulent riff on a traditional Billi Bi preparation while the Hudson Valley foie gras was unctuous and delectable. Our main courses and desserts were similarly superb and beautifully embellished. We were fortunate in having outstanding service since student wait staff can run the gamut from indifferent to highly professional and entertaining. Our sole criticism, precluding a five star rating, is that the décor is somewhat cold and pedestrian. If you have the opportunity to secure a reservation, you are in for a transporting experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choucrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    68
    27
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Having fun with food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The new Bocuse restaurant is a lot more fun than its predecessor, the Escoffier. The room itself is bright and appealing, and the menu has been lightened a lot. More of a casual/bistro place than a fine dining experience, which was just fine with us. Very nice selection of breads (made by the students at the on-campus bakery). Flavorful, tender piece of beef cooked exactly to my preferred point between rare and medium rare, brightly flavored sauce. When there was a delay before our desserts came (the place was at capacity with several very large tables; frankly, we didn't mind the delay since we had eaten every crumb on our plates...), the waiter brought a charming little plate of house-made marshmallows. Desserts tend to the theatrical (ice cream made from fresh cream table side, in a mixer with dry ice to freeze it fast), but everyone enjoyed watching the treats being prepared at neighboring tables. Especially for the price, it's a great place for a relaxed evening when you're in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCTranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Superb Meal with Superb Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

While I have seen reviews of this and other CIA restaurants that are not particularly complimentary about the food and service, we had a very different impression. We went for lunch, and each had the three course prix fixe $35 offering. My wife had the lobster appetizer and I the Lyonnaise salad, and we each had the scallops for our entrée and the chocolate on chocolate for dessert. Each course was beautifully presented and was absolutely delicious. I am sure that there are good student servers, and some that are not-so-good (this is a training facility!), but we had nothing but exceptional service. Our servers were ending their two year course of study and were graduating the next day, so they were at the peak of their restaurant service experience.

We are accustomed to Westchester/Fairfield restaurants (as well as those all over the world), and it's been a long time since we have had such a superb dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very good dinner and a nice experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We often eat at high end restaurants in NYC yet have always wanted to try a restaurant at the CIA. Since we decided to visit the FDR library and museum nearby, it was a good opportunity to try Bocuse. Well, first off, you need to go in with the expectation of a fine restaurant run by students because that's what this is. Yes, things weren't completely smooth. Our server was a freshman and she seemed a bit nervous and a bit unpolished but that was okay (we had eaten the night before at Marea, a 2 star Michelin restaurant so the comparison was stark). We accepted the fact that the server is not someone who has been doing this for 15 years.
The food was extremely well prepared (except for one mistake on a dessert, which they corrected). The chicken fricassee that my wife ordered was very tasty with a rich mushroom rice preparation. My pork tenderloin was tender and the sauce enriched the dish just so.
For dessert, I highly recommend getting the signature dish with the table side ice cream and the green tea cake. Definitely worth visiting in my opinion. Will try one of the CIA's other restaurants next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We planned on having a very romantic dinner at the Bocuse Restaurant at the Culinary Institute of Americia. My only request was that we have a cozy table away from the traffic. When we arrived to a lovely candle lit table in the corner, glasses of champagne arrived with a smiling waiter saying "Happy Anniversay."... with that came lovely plate from one of the chiefs to try before dinner. Our dinner was of course wonderful, no one rushed us and the food was spectacular. Desert was also exceptional and then a lovely plate saying Happy Anniversary in Chocolate arrived with hand dipped chocolates. It was a memorable evening and I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bocuse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing