We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh so wonderful, the service and the food”

The Culinary Institute of America
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and enjoy our award-winning restaurants and cafes, retail stores, and public tours. Learn how CIA students prepare for exciting careers in food. See how everything we do supports our mission of providing the world's best professional culinary education.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Oh so wonderful, the service and the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

A MUST! To experience young, creative and budding chefs in their learning phase was an experience to not miss. Loved it...and the food, spectacular. Talk to the waiters and ask them any question about the food, the school or themselves...the next James Beard award winners in the distant future may just have been that adorable waiter filling your water glass or clearing your dessert plate!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    122
    33
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marcus Hook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The food at the Apple Pie was the best. It was good and not expensive. The atmosphere was very plesant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wensvan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently visited Hyde Park, NY for three nights. Our first afternoon included a tour of the Culinary Institute led by one of the students. We also dined at three different restaurants at the CIA on each of our three nights in the area, and I am reviewing the restaurants separately. All things considered it was a wonderful experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour, and it gave us a greater appreciation for the Institute, as well as a greater appreciation for our meals. It was also a low-cost tour at only $6 per person, and it was well worth every penny. Tours are conducted once daily at 4 PM (M-F), with an extra tour on Mon. at 10 AM when classes are in session. Reservations are a must. They have a great bookstore/gift shop!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WAY TOO EXPENSIVE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Service was terrable! I understand they are learning but for the price it was aweful. The food was also not what I would have expected from such a prestigeous venu. Never again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoeMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The CIA is in the gorgeous Hudson Valley. The area is so beautiful, and the scenery from the patio of the CIA is worth enjoying for a while.

We ate at the Italian restaurant. It was good, but not excellent like the CIA restaurants in the wine country of California.

We had an appetizer of salmon and marscapone, which was fine but needed a little more to make it tasty. It was pretty bland.

The salad was good, and the lunch salmon was cooked perfectly. It was one of the best cooked salmon dishes we've ever enjoyed. We were not impressed with what came with it--a few small breadcrumbs, and squash, that, unfortunately, was also in the shape of breadcrumbs...you maybe got four breadcrumb-shaped squares of squash. It seems like the vegetable that came with lunch could have been more impressive.

The prices are very high, so don't go there expecting a reasonably priced lunch.

The server was friendly, informative and impressive.

Would we go again--yes, but we will probably try a different restaurant.

We were disappointed not to even be able to go in and purchase a to-go dessert. Even though it was the middle of a weekday afternoon, the line to get into the dessert restaurant was very long. It seems like they ought to be able to find a better solution for people who do not want a table, but only want to get in/out quickly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Culinary Institute of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing