We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for "Foodies"”

The Culinary Institute of America
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and enjoy our award-winning restaurants and cafes, retail stores, and public tours. Learn how CIA students prepare for exciting careers in food. See how everything we do supports our mission of providing the world's best professional culinary education.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful for "Foodies"”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ate at the Apple Pie Cafe....Had the soup and shared 4 desserts....All out of this world. Also toured the school...which was very interesting and informative. If you're in the area don't miss the CIA. This was my second visit...and would definitely go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mathilda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    124
    34
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A window on chef training”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went on a tour, and was very impressed with the quality of training. Our tour guide was a former student and very knowledgeable about the courses of study. We enjoyed the tour very much, and loved the pastries we were able to purchase at the bakery. We had made dinner reservations for that evening. Our server was charming and excellent. Unfortunately, the food was just ok. Good but not excellent. We ordered glasses of wine, and the portions served were on the small side. We were expecting a tad more gourmet, but obviously the students are still learning. Enjoyed the tour very much, but if in the area again, not sure we would return for dinner with the same level of expectation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Institute of America”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Culinary Institute of America, aka CIA is one of the best schools in the US to study culinary arts. My son is in his second semester there and I visited him from PA. On the tour of CIA I observed busy students learning everything from cutting meat to making pastries, the positive energy and passion for food that everyone exudes is inspiring and uplifting. The professionalism at CIA can be experienced at one of their restaurants, sampling their amazing food, prepared and served by the students. Not to mention the beautiful location of CIA at the banks of the mighty Hudson River, surrounded by quaint little historic NY towns and dairy farms. I highly recommend a visit to CIA and its surrounding areas.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank YasminE761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is just a superb place to eat. We eat here a few times a year and have never had a sub par meal.... My favorite is the American Bounty. Also the cafe bakery is a great option for lunch

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DJJOENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All around...a lovely visit. Changes made to the campus over the years have only enhanced the experience. Beautiful grounds. Very clean. Friendly, accommodating staff. Delicious food! (Perhaps too much...but in a good way!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Culinary Institute of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing