We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff was very attentive and food was very good.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse

Joseph's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is minutes from Culinary, Marist and Vassar College. Located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park and minutes from FDR Library. Joseph Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more. Private room for catering.
Thornwood
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff was very attentive and food was very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I celebrated his birthday here. We shared the bone in cowboy rib eye for two, which was excellent! Also, our waiter was really friendly and down to earth. Definitely a restaurant I would go back to and recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeajacrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for having your special evening at Joseph's. A second thank you for the nice review.
Joseph
PS My birthday is a week from today and I plan to celebrate it a Joseph's also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    52
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a delicious find!! A true culinary & visitor experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived late at night during a torrential rainstorm! We were welcomed by a very friendly staff who whisked away our wet coats & umbrellas. Martinis ordered and hot Manhattan Chowder on the way to warm us up, we couldn't get over the fantastic selection of aged Angus beef. They have German & Italian cuisine and lots of seafood choices also. We had the 20oz. Porterhouse steak (which would feed 2 easily) and the beef short tips. To say the meat arrived still sizzling in the pan is an understatement! It was cooked to perfection! It is brought quite rare & continues to cook in front of you to the medium rare request!!! The sides of creamed spinach which comes in a mini stone kettle pot, garlic mashed potatoes and zucchini/carrot stir fry just added to the meal.
Portions were generous. The owner Joseph is very engaging and shared the history of the house when Eleanor Roosevelt owned it. Michael came by our table when he heard we were visiting from Maryland and gave us awesome suggestions of sites to see that are off the beaten path! A moonshine & bourbon distillery for one and walking tours to include the bridge over the Hudson. Ya cannot talk about Moonshine without tasting it..... So Michael whipped up an amazing drink w/French liqueur that smells like the fruit leechi, moonshine & a splash of ginger ale. It was surprisingly delicious! Dessert..... After all that food, we knew they would have amazing desserts and they did. We had a triple layer mousse/cream cheese w/chocolate crust dessert. I wish we could have stayed longer as this is a most unusual restaurant. They are proud of the area and for a traveler, it truly improved the visitor experience for us. We will tell all our friends about this meal. Michael is a part of the experience too!!! A Culinary Institute Graduate, he is very knowledgeable about everything food & drink related!! Make your reservations now!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kmackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review. It is visitors like you that makes our efforts enjoyable. It's reading reviews like this that brings in visitors. Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed the food & hospitality. Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant straight from the 60's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

If a time traveler from the 1960s beamed into Joseph's Steakhouse, they would think they were in a great steak house back home.

The menu - thick-cut steaks, prime rib, shrimp cocktails, iceberg wedge and caesar salads - is just what I remember when going to a fancy restaurant with my parents; and the atmosphere (the lighting, the Sinatra crooning in the background) matched my memories of the 60's as well.

Our waiter was excellent. We were there on a busy Saturday night, but the service never lagged - and we were never hurried.

The prime rib and the sirloin steaks were cooked exactly as ordered; and the drinks before dinner were top quality.

If we're back in Hyde Park we will definitely stop here again for dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I am one of those people who just loved the 50's & 60's. The music, cars and the good times. I am glad that you also enjoyed Joseph's. We hope that all of our customers enjoy a evening of dinning to the music of Frank and friends as you did. Thank You Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and a special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner. We each ordered the iceberg wedge with blue cheese dressing and the 12-ounce strip steak. I had the twice-baked potato and my husband had the lyonnaise potatoes and we shared the mushroom/onion side. Everything was delicious. The steaks were prepared just as we ordered, medium-rare, and served on a hot grill plate. They had a wonderful flavor. Both types of potatoes were very good, but the twice-baked was exceptional. The crusty bread was also very nice, and we enjoyed an excellent bottle of Barolo. There was a very nice selection of desserts, but we both chose the homemade rice pudding (made by Joseph's wife), and we were not disappointed. It was very good. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Joseph, who was very welcoming and friendly. We were invited to the bar for an after-dinner drink, and Joseph generously offered us a taste of a very special bottle of Jack Daniels. We were treated to great live entertainment by singers Michael and Marie, with a cameo by Ernie, who is not only a talented singer, but a very funny guy. All of this turned an excellent dinner into a very special evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
The music was good but our guest were great. I am glad that you enjoyed your evening at Joseph's. We try to have Michael & Maria a couple of Friday each month. It just adds to the evening. I am glad you got to hear them and I am glad we got to meet also. Thank You, Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a GREAT Easter Sunday BRUNCH….Thank you Michael & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had 30 minutes to get in and out before we attended the tour of Eleanor Roosevelt's Cottage. Michael said he could get us in and out in time….HE DID…(recommendations were on point)...But the food was so good that we wanted to stay longer and enjoy. We recommend this restaurant to anyone who goes to Hyde Park….Great Food & Great Service & Atmosphere….we will be back in May for sure…..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Our Three Course Sunday Brunch is Hyde Park's hidden secret. Thank you for the nice Sunday Brunch review. Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing