We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Joseph's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: German, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is minutes from Culinary, Marist and Vassar College. Located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park and minutes from FDR Library. Joseph's Italian Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more. Private room for catering.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Joseph's and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The prime rib was wonderful, tender and tasty. The wait staff was professional and caring and the owner was welcoming and engaging. Overall, a superb dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We love having nice guest also and hope that they return again. Thank You Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    52
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak Dinner”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stopped in to Joseph's on Saturday evening after a long day of touring the Roosevelt and Vanderbilt homes in Hyde Park. We arrived without reservations but the host graciously accommodated us despite the packed house. Our server, Mike, was friendly and helpful. We each started with a delicious corn chowder (just perfect on a cool autumn evening), house salad and prime rib (end cut) which was cooked to perfection. The only problem was that we were full after dinner and had no room for dessert (too bad).

We heartily recommend Joseph's. A perfect way to end a great road trip to Hyde Park.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank You for the nice review. We are so grateful so have nice guest as yourself and hope we have the pleasure of serving you again. Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the time we walked in until we left it was a great evening. Everyone, the bartender, the owner, the waiters were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The food was great -- wonderful escargots, steak, lobster, shrimp. The best meal we had on our trip to New York. We live in Washington, DC and frequent very highly rated restaurants. None could top Josephs!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Only one word to how I feel about your review. WOW
Thank You,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak Dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Husband took me to dinner and food and service was excellent. I'm an extreamly picky eater but the steak and sauce was the best I've ever had. The steak justs melt in your mouth. Our waiter Mike was great, very attentive, made us feel very welcome. We have eaten here before and will again and will tell every one this is the very best steak house in the Hudson Valley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Joseph's has tried to bring to the Hudson Valley the type of Steakhouse you would find in Manhattan but at Hudson Valley prices. It is really a treat to us when our local customers enjoy our quality of steak. Next week we are celebrating our second anniversary with a commentary glass of champagne. Hope to see you soon Thank You Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise and we're picky!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Took our niece to early dinner on sunday. The food and the service were outstanding. Flank steak and shrimp scampi some of the best we've ever had and we were in the business. Joseph was a joy; our waiter, Mike, has a great sense of humor but is serious about food and wine. Very knowledgable. Terrific experience. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank culinellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Manager at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
To our new Marist Friends. Michael & I enjoyed having you and your family for Sunday dinner. I always like to hear that our customers enjoy their meal along with the hospitality and a nice dinning experience. Looking forward to your return. Thank you Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing