We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Evening in Hyde Park”
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Joseph's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: German, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is minutes from Culinary, Marist and Vassar College. Located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park and minutes from FDR Library. Joseph's Italian Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more. Private room for catering.
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Evening in Hyde Park”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had just enjoyed a day of historical site seeing and was thirsty for a good glass of wine and a savory steak. I was not disappointed on either craving. I was a little worried when I arrived and found the restaurant mostly empty with the exception of their catering hall. I was quickly invited in and granted a perfect table with a view of the whole restaurant. The staff could not have been more kind and the ambiance was exactly what I was looking for. I could hear Frank playing in the background, as the waitress was quick to find an answer to my request to forgo the potatoes and salad for fresh asparagus. I was happy to find my request granted and I was not disappointed when my filet mignon and asparagus arrived quite quickly after my order was placed. This restaurant is not the Wollensky but it does offer a friendly staff and an unexpected high level of culinary delight. I gave this restaurant a 3 out of 5 for the friendly atmosphere and quality of food. I must add the restaurant was empty because they were closing. I had no idea just how friendly they were until I asked if I could have one more glass of wine as I read one last chapter in a book I brought along. They graciously insisted that I enjoy another glass and read with no pressure to depart. Thank you, Charles

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. I try to read and answer almost every review. I am a little lost on how to answering your review. Your comments { I was thirsty for a good glass of wine and a savory steak. I was not disappointed on either craving. The staff could not have been more kind and the ambiance was exactly what I was looking for. I could hear Frank playing in the background, as the waitress was quick to find an answer to my request to forgo the potatoes and salad for fresh asparagus. I was happy to find my request granted and I was not disappointed when my filet mignon and asparagus arrived quite quickly after my order was placed. offers a friendly staff and an unexpected high level of culinary delight.} My problem is after reading these nice comments how did you ever come up with a three stars rating? Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    52
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks in an unexpected place.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were only looking for good ribs,but found one of the best steakhouses in the Hudson valley. First of all the escargot was delicious, and so was the crock of French onion soup. We were surprised to receive a free bottle of champagne from the wedding party in the banquet hall nearby, and the drinks we ordered were phenomenal. My wife (who is pregnant) ordered the hibiscus lemonade and loved it. I ordered the Anjou chili and orange infused margarita which was excellent, with the perfect blend of tequila and citrus flavor (the waiter said they infuse the tequila with their own citrus creations.) You better have a DD. The prime rib was easily the best I have ever had. It was medium/rare-rare, and literally melts in your mouth. My wife had been wanting baby back ribs for days (it was her birthday), and she wasn't disappointed. These ribs were also amazing. All around the service was amazing as well. The menu was expensive and the service was what you would expect when you are paying those prices. It was our first time at Joseph's and we are already looking forward to our next excursion. Worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokithetooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Visit”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

An enjoyable experience all around. Highly recommend you visit. Although the menu initially seems somewhat expensive the large portions, food quality, presentation, excellent service and ambiance are worth every penny. If you're lucky, they'll seat you in one of the booths. Plan on leftovers. And be sure to sample the desserts. Allow time for some great conversation and an after dinner liqueur at the bar that you passed on the way in. Keep in mind though that they're not giving anything away and you can quickly run up a substantial tab before exiting. This is "old school" dining at its best and reminiscent of an era gone by but with all the modern touches you'd expect. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ned H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are so glad that you had a great dinning experience. I do believe in "old school dinning at it's best". That is really nicely put. . A nice dinning experience starts with hospitality, good services and ends with a delightful meal. I want you to think of us as a special night out. Oh my new favorite dessert is our Bread Pudding with a glazed topping and a maple cream sauce. Thank you and hope to see you soon. Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswold, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a delicious meal we had. Everything was superior from the martinis to the meal to dessert and the service. My husband's steak was tender and perfect. My fish was tasty and delightful. We are glad we stopped here on our trip from CT. Joseph suggested we come back for the crab cake and we must! We have been to steakhouses before but Joseph's was superb. The waiters and Joseph were friendly and made us feel right at home. This is a #1 Top Class Restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvpink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great dinner”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had dinner there on Tues. night with BNO.
The steak was cooked to perfection and as tasty as it comes.
The waiter was one of the best I have ever had. In fact we liked the wine and he took the label off and gave it to us!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Manager at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the comments and when you think about having a great steak we will be here for you. A few other items that are customer favorites are the prime rib, sauerbraten, crab cake and my new favor dessert at Joseph's the bread pudding. hope to see you soon... Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing