We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Joseph's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: German, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is minutes from Culinary, Marist and Vassar College. Located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park and minutes from FDR Library. Joseph's Italian Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more. Private room for catering.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is absolutely excellent. Good prices, wonderful food and the best service. Nicely appointed dining room and bar part of which once was part of Elinor Roosevelt's property. We visited the restaurant in early October of 2012. I had the filet mignon and my wife had the sauerbraten. Both were excellent. We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 274 of 308 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I went to Hyde PArk, NY for vacation and asked the person at our hotel to recommend a good place to eat. Without hesitation, she said Joseph's Steakhouse.
Well it did not disappoint. The dry aged strip steak was to die for as well as everything else we ordered. The food there is an excellent value for the money and the waitstaff and owner are wonderful. Joseph himself makes rounds throughout the dining room.
We would consider making a special trip from central PA just to eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cpblade16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

I like to thank you for the nice review. I am also glad that you enjoyed your experience at Joseph's Steakhouse. If you ever decide to make that special trip to dine with us, we will do our best this special.

Thank You'
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been a returning happy patron since their opening a year ago. Always happy wih food,company,atmosphere and service.
Tip to 50+ .. Great mature bar... Think about this as a weekly go-to

2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Manager at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Joanne,

It is always our pleasure to service you and your husband. Joseph's Steakhouse have a great little tap room that is becoming popular to our local customers. Thank you for being one of our special customers.

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had dinner last night. Started with Fried Zucchini, they were fresh slices dipped in a tempura batter, a little greasy, but fresh. next came the salad, it was amazing, different types of lettuce, cucumber, tomato and cranberries and the dressing was just the right amount. My husband had the 9oz Filet and I had the 12oz Ribeye, Husband;s steak was perfect, with great flavor. My ribeye was very good, but not as good as the filet. Garlic Mash were a little bland, twice baked was very good. Service was very attentive and spot on. Owner makes his rounds and talks to everyone. Will I be going back, you bet!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great Steak!! I usually eat in Rhinebeck, but this place is the place to go if you want a steak. The larger steaks for two or three are best. Just like being in a NYC steakhouse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Strategery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for the nice review and we want you to have the type of steak you would get in New York city. Hope to see you soon

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing