We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rough around the edges but very welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Square Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Square Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Amherst
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges but very welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The layout and look of this motel brings back memories of many road trips I have taken over the years. The rooms are arrayed around a central parking lot, edged by pretty black-eyed susans. The room is in need of some sprucing up, but was more than adequate for an overnight stay. The price is very reasonable. Breakfast is included. The warm welcome by the desk clerk and her adorable daughter added to our good experience there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafelover98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Although this motel is in close proximity to some great attractions it is truly awful. When we opened the door to the motel it wasn't horrible at first. Upon closer inspection you could see cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and painted duct tape around the windowsill. The bathroom, however, was the icing on the cake. It was extremely small with ripped up linoleum in the shower (I had serious concerns of contracting a virus). When we complained to the manager about the state of the room she offered to show us another one. The second room proved to be even worse than the first. An overwhelming smell of feet hit you right in the face as soon as you opened the door. The shower also featured ripped up flooring. It was overpriced for the quality (or lack of) provided. While we were in the room we desperately called the hotel across the street to see if they had any available rooms. For only $15 more we booked a wonderful room in stark contrast with this motel. While the manager was extremely sweet and helpful with information about the area she could not save the reputation of this derelict motel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler9857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed there on September 19th, 2011. Given wrong key, did not fit the door. Smell was terrible. Had a air freshener plugged in the wall, had to take out as could not breathe with it in. The towels were dingy. The shower was broken. No electric outlets in the bathroom. No lamp on the desk, too dark to work there. As for the breakfast from 8 to 11 am. As we pulled up to go for breakfast at 8:05 am, the office was locked and no-one was there. Lucky nothing happened during the night or you would have no idea how to contact anyone.

Room Tip: Best advice is not to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

It's your average motel. Nice pool. Fair breakfast. Good staff. Plenty of food nearby. Route 9 is always busy, but have patience. Lots of historic places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthefaxmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
4.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Square Motel

Property: Village Square Motel
Address: 4159 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing