We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Add this to your list”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 2 Taste Food and Wine Bar - CLOSED

2 Taste Food and Wine Bar
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Add this to your list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were looking for a new place in the Valley, and this was a last minute, spur of the moment, recommendation, and we all can say we were pleasantly surprised at this established located in the former Twist space.

An interesting menu, which included the usual basic fare but with an extensive appetizer selection that included the addition of venison, wild game, duck ravioli, and other interesting sliders. For apps we split the truffle mac & cheese, which was wonderful, and the roast stuffed venison. The main entries for us included: the HV natural burger, crispy salmon, grilled ribeye steak and duck ravioli appetizer with a salad. The only minor complaints we had were the lack of anchovies on the caesar salad, and the steak temp was more to the rare side than medium. For desert, a combination of creme brulee, coffee, and an aperitif.

As a party of 4, on a early week, late evening in the winter, we had outstanding and friendly service, our server was extremely attentive. We also availed of the early week special of half-price select wines, which was an attractive bonus to split the bottle 3 ways.

With gratuity the bill came to about $50/pp, not too outrageous for casual, fine dining and impeccable service. We can say It's worth the go to give a try, we think you'll be pleased to keep it on your list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We ate here on recommendation of our motel manager during our one night stop in Hyde Park. The strip mall frontage made us a little apprehensive..but once we got inside that was gone. Small casual restaurant. We had really delicious vegetable pot pit, steak frite and delicous cheesecake for dessert. We aren't wine drinkers but the selection looked good. Our server was very knowledgeable and introduced each entree.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUTCHESS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I am not a big belly eater, but must say the entree is tiny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

You have to order all courses: appet. soup, main, and desert. Eat them all, and then be prepared to get a chicken wrap on the way home. I don't get it. How much effort to add 10-15% portion to the entree!? The price for an entree is $24-$30. It is not fair to keep half my belly empty. The taste is really great. Could have been better if the strategy is more portion-friendly. Very few reasonably priced wines. Little nicer wines are OVER priced!!! OVer $50. It is not necessarily a good strategy to keep eaters coming back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daredar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Level Contributor
366 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a very accomodating atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant after reading some very positive comments in Hudson Valley Magazine. While I don't agree with the author's conclusion that the Pork Chop has surpassed all others, it is very nice, but there is another Pork chop available up the road that is far superior.
We had two app's, two entrees and a two deserts, all were very well presented and we enjoyed our meals very much. We switched each plate half-way through so we could each try everything we had ordered and agreed that all was excellent.
There is an open kitchen here which can be fun, the night we visited was mid week so the place was not crowded.
Service was excellent.
We plan to visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank optiman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mixed Results”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The good parts first. We started with the fish and chips special as an appetizer. Sounds pretty simple, but fish was smelts with a perky dipping suace, and the potatoes are meaty. That's a treat. The other appetizer was a duck conift with salad, again well done. A main dish of salmon was competent, but nothing memorable . The smoked pork chop entre was humongously large and the accomponiments of a bread pudding and carmelized onions gave a nice balancing act. But, unfortuantely, the pork was under-done and had to go back. So then we sat with one plate of dinner and the other diner staring at an empty table. No effort made to bring anything while the chop was getting its second round. When it did came back, my date had finished her salmon and now she could look at the empty table. Can happen anywhere, but this wouldn't have been as troublesome if, with every plate served, our enthusiastic server had not been coming by to tell us how good it was and that all we had picked were all his favorite plates. Perhaps he likes his pork underdone.

Bottom line, food most of the time OK, price about right, but the act in the front of the house not ready for the road.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing