We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish! Can't wait to go back!”

Apple Pie Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe showcases the talents of the CIA's baking and pastry arts students and faculty, and features sumptuous baked goods and cafe cuisine. The full menu is available for takeout or to enjoy in our relaxed, reservation-free dining area. The Apple Pie Bakery Cafe received awards for "Best Desserts" and "Best Lunch Spot" in Hudson Valley Magazine's annual "Best Of The Hudson Valley" awards.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delish! Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We popped in to grab breakfast before hitting all of the NPS sites nearby. The selection definitely did not disappoint! We had a Samoa brioche doughnut that was divine! We also had the cherry-almond scone. Best I've ever had! It was so buttery and light it nearly melted in your mouth. The pecan sticky bun was just okay. Now the macarons on the other hand...out of this world! They had very unique flavor combination like goat cheese and honey and buttered popcorn and caramel. Yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArmyWife3-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    51
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Would have liked to have more time on the beautiful campus of the CIA. Arrived late for lunch and went to the Apple; there was a line with an estimated 20 min wait. While in line a student was offering chocolate samples :-) wish she would have shared information about the wonderful chocolate. All of the food ordered was FABULOUS!! Beef barley soup was loaded with beef, veggies and barley-all in a rich brown broth. Turkey sandwich on focaccia was fresh and flavorful. The beet salad was colorful and delish, deep fried artichokes were crisp and tangy. We were all very pleased with the food. PB&J cookies was full of yummy goodness! Down side-loud in the cafe. Overall-GO! ENJOY!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharondelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food Once Again”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We always love to eat at this Cafe when we visit the CIA and this is our fourth visit and each time is a special treat. The food is always fresh and delicious and the desserts are to die for. There were four in our party and all of us left with contentment and delight.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mickeybny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxedo Park, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Major Yumminess!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went here for coffee and dessert after having lunch at the Bounty. The coffee is absolutely divine!! And we tried 6 different desserts / pastries and each were delicious! Love the students, everyone is so nice - can't wait to go back & have lunch here as their menu of soups salads and sandwiches is terrific!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMMiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Stop by....earlier in the day”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped by for an afternoon snack to hold us over to dinner at the school's restaurant. Unfortunately, we got there about 2 hours before closing and most of the desserts were already sold out so we had to settle for whatever they had left in the case. The treats were good, but I had taken a look at the menu online and had several things in mind that I wanted to try, but unfortunately, too many people earlier in the day had the same items on their list, too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Pie Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing