We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but not CIA's best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Andrew's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
St. Andrew's Cafe
1946 Campus Dr, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
18454716608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but not CIA's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Will probably return to other CIA restaurants first. Decor is country club modern. Food good but uneven. Carrot cake turned out to be a muffin. Gnocchi somewhat golf-ballish (fitting the name?). Ravioli dried and tough on edges. But perfectly cooked dorade and excellent cioppino. Wine list a bit limited, partly because they try to offer local wines, which are not my preference. Overall this is very good dining, but we have been even more impressed by other restaurants there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superior Service with Fine Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The restaurants at the CIA are all a worthwhile experience. St. Andrew's Cafe is a good example of the excellent food and service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrAndy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pastry Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just looking at the bakery display will add 5 pounds.The presentation and selection are second to none and you can't beat the freshness.Pick anything that meets your fancy and you will not be disappointed.My personal favorie is the cinnamon bun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NATIVENy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to my taste buds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went with friends to lunch for best friends' birthday. YUM! The carrot apple soup was just right, the chicken and onions were amazing and who would think meat loaf would be the star of the show? Note, you need reservations and be there on time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown,nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Considering that reception, service and cooking is handled by relatively inexperienced students, I never expected anywhere near the level of quality and professionalism that I experienced.
I take my hat off to the Students and the Faculty of the CIA!
Can't wait to return again.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bfrattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andrew's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing