We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian restaurant at Culinary Institute”

Ristorante Caterina de' Medici
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Caterina de' Medici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Truly authentic regional Italian cuisine takes center stage at Ristorante Caterina de' Medici, a sophisticated dining room overlooking a stunning herb and rose garden, and the Hudson River. Or enjoy wood oven pizza and other simple rustic dishes in the more casual Al Forno Trattoria. Dining at this grand Tuscan-style villa is a culinary escape to another world without ever having to leave the beautiful Hudson Valley.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant at Culinary Institute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Lovely atmosphere. Our main courses were plentiful but appetizer was tiny. The service was a bit shaky but we did not mind at all. These were new students and we understood that they were a bit nervous and learning the art of the service. They were all very cordial. We had a lovely conversation with supervisor who visited out table. The tiramisu was the BEST I've ever tasted. Food was a bit expensive especially that we only had lunch.
All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rfb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a fun experience with outstanding service and excellent food. We were served by students who were six weeks from graduating. They were friendly and helpful. We were there for lunch and frankly too much food was served but it was delicious. The salmon with eggplant topping was exquisite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jxl_from_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plan a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had been trying to get a reservation for some time. Finally we were able to go last night for our anniversary. The grounds of the school are amazing, so make sure you arrive early to enjoy! Our request for a quiet table for two, was met beyond our expectations. Our waiter was excellent. We began with the prosciutto and mozzarella, best ever melts in your mouth. Then the arugala salad, nice. We had the fussulli with lamb ragu, so good...we shared this. Entree- I had the Rabbitt, which I had never ordered before, I must say it was amazing. My husband loves leg of lamb, but was disappointed in the lack of flavor and seasoning. Desert-Tiramisu that was the best I have ever had in my life!!!! We would highly recommend and will be going back to try another on of the restaurants on sight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swimboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
374 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Truly an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just returned from a month touring through parts of New England. We finished our trip home with a lunch at the Caterina De' Medici restaurant in Hyde Park. WOW! is all I can say. The salmon, soup, salad, chicken, fettuccine was all superb! The restaurant is relaxed but formal. I watched a waiter change a tablecloth. He was very low key, moving the used tablecloth slowly and folding it many times before sliding an equally folded fresh tablecloth over the table and quickly picking up the soiled tablecloth. So smoothly that nearby tables did not even know this action was taking place. Most restaurants seem to do this with a flourish. The waiters all held their sub-dominant hand behind their backs as they poured fresh, cool water into each person's glass and didn't spill a drop. The dining atmosphere was quiet even though the room was full of diners. We had made reservations several months in advance and our table was ready and set for 2 when we arrived. Everyone was very attentive and concerned that we were pleased with the lunch, setting and service. Everyone was well dressed and knowledgable about the contents of the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brenirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Invest in young chef's experience...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The CIA Restaurant Ristorante Caterina de' Medici in Hyde Park is OK. The atmosphere is pleasant. BUT, this is a teaching institution and you have to be prepared to be served by, well, let's say: "kids." We waited for 10 minutes after seating before intercepting someone to ask who was waiting on us (shame on management for not supervising the room!) The sommelier brought us a wine list and when I asked which of the Tuscan San Genovese he'd recommend, he was unaware there were two on the list. Yipes. Food was late, and under-seasoned. So, if you want to help budding culinary folks get experience, this is a nice investment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Caterina de' Medici also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Caterina de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing