We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful lunch”

Ristorante Caterina de' Medici
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Caterina de' Medici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Truly authentic regional Italian cuisine takes center stage at Ristorante Caterina de' Medici, a sophisticated dining room overlooking a stunning herb and rose garden, and the Hudson River. Or enjoy wood oven pizza and other simple rustic dishes in the more casual Al Forno Trattoria. Dining at this grand Tuscan-style villa is a culinary escape to another world without ever having to leave the beautiful Hudson Valley.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently (3/27/2014) had a marvelous lunch, labeled "Black Tie and Truffles", at the Caterina de Medici Restaurant at the CIA. All three dishes had truffles in one form or the other. The food was splendid, as was the service. On this occasion there were three students from Bard College performing: piano and two vocalist singing mostly pieces from operas. A totally enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikAnestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pure Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Dining at Caterina de'Medici was simply put "pure pleasure". Wonderful meal choices. The braised veal was only made more spectacular by the wonderful sauce surrounding it on the plate. The "market fish" was Branzini. This was cooked to perfection with crispy skin and moist flesh.
The student chef's, as well as every single person affiliated with both the CIA and Caterina itself made the experience beyind enjoyable, as the absolute passion of each came thru with every facet of our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAL52772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World Class Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We recently had lunch at one of the four public restaurants at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY.
These restaurants are part of the hands-on training grounds for the students, most of whom are seeking two- or four-year degrees in the various culinary specialties.
We chose the Ristorante Caterina de Medici, sited in a beautiful Italianate villa-style building on campus..
Our server was a young lady in her second year of studies. She was very eager to answer our questions about the college, while still maintaining the air of professionalism you would expect in such a setting.
With the high quality food, service and ambience, you could imagine yourself
in one of Italy’s finest dining venues. Its no wonder that it is considered the premier culinary arts school in the country!
Reservations are strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slowchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My entire family was delighted with the food and the experience. Even though CIA is a teaching institution, Caterina de' Medici has the look and feel of an upscale Italian restaurant. The food had a terrific mix of somewhat chic, more involved dishes in addition to more traditional Italian, gourmet, comfort food. The braised beef in a Barolo wine sauce was extremely tender and flavorful. It was well complemented by one of their reasonably priced wines by the glass, Aglianico de Vulture. Perhaps my only mild disappointment was that the size of their wine pours were on the small size. The fusilli in lamb ragu sauce was amazing as was the sea bass. Our desert cheeses rocked - especially since our server asked for our style preferences and then delivered on a range of Italian cheeses that met our specifications. They brought five different cheeses that truly represented our choices. The entire bill was reasonable for a multi-course event and the service was outstanding. Our servers were preparing to go through their graduation event in about a week, so it is possible we had a strong, experienced staff. None-the-less, they were terrific. I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobrevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great evening for our first CIA experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

After reading mixed reviews for this CIA restaurant, we decided to risk it since it was the only CIA restaurant open on Mondays. We're glad we took the risk! We shared the bresaola for the first course - air cured need with shaved Parmesan. Our entrees were the duck breast and braised beef in Barolo. Both were great. We shared a tart of butternut squash and chocolate - a special for the evening. Excellent. We later learned that the mixed results for evenings at these restaurants is often dependent on the experience of the class. We must have had a class close to the end because our evening was special in every regard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Caterina de' Medici also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Caterina de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing