We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Farewell, Escoffier...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escoffier Restaurant - CLOSED

Escoffier Restaurant
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Farewell, Escoffier...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were there on their last day before the bog remodel. The restaurant will be reopening under the name of Paul Bocuse, I believe.
They represented THE prime in French cuisine, and when they re-open, that certainly will not change; they are just going to be more modern. You absolutely, positively cannot beat this restaurant for quality and price. And having a meal here enables you to participate in the training of the next generation of the world's finest chefs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonRiverLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We dined at Escoffier last week, the menu for which is now being served at the St. Andrew's Cafe. In Escoffier's former location will be the new restaurant, Bocuse, which is scheduled to open before next spring. I have no idea how the menu for Bocuse will compare to Escoffier, but the companion and I definitely enjoyed our recent Escoffier dinner. Service was generally pretty good. The food was also very good, although this was the least favorite of our three meals at the CIA in as many nights. They did start us out with a very nice amuse bouche, a small pork terrine with a mini gougere. It was a very nice start. My companion and I both ordered a salad special of the night, which was a lovely nicoise with lightly seared tuna over greens with some cherry tomatoes, fingerling potatoes, anchovies, and a quail egg. We both loved it. For our entrees we both chose the beef tenderloin, with crispy truffle pudding, asparagus, and port wine glazed onions. The beef was perfectly cooked, and we both loved the tarragon and foie gras sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful and fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Dinner threatened to be a disaster but turned out delightful instead. In planning our trip to the Hudson Valley, we had made electronic reservation for the American Bounty restaurant at the Culinary Institute of America. When we arrived at the CIA, however, there was no record of our reservation and the restaurant was full. Unable to accommodate us at the American Bounty, the staff there called the Escoffier, the French restaurant of the CIA, which was able to seat us. The CIA restaurants are staffed by faculty (supervising) and students. The dinner was delightful. The servers, who are students training for careers in the food-service industry, especially as chefs. While they are learning and don't always get things right, they bring much more energy and interest to their jobs than the staff at just about any restaurant you will try. Servers are eager to engage in discussions about food, wine, service traditions in other countries. The enthusiasm was infectious. The food was very good, of a quality usually to be found in larger cities not smallish towns. And the wine list by the glass was small but well curated, with several interesting selections. The evident interest the servers and cooks take in learning the craft in which they will spend their careers made this a memorable and highly enjoyable evening, despite the bumpy start. We all know America is in the midst of a food revolution, and the CIA has been in the forefront of that. Based on the meal we ate in the CIA's traditional, European-style dining room, we can say with confidence that the future of American dining is in good hands. If you are in the area, go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fufu58
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Treat yourself !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have visited the CIA many times, but forgot to make reservations on this visit. They had an opening so we took it even though I didn't feel as dressed as I thought I should be. The Maitre'd didn't even blink ... and later a gentleman arrived in ripped jeans. Our student waitress was nervous, but did an outstanding job describing the specials. The entire staff was so beyond professional and the presentation of both appetizer and entree was top notch. Everything was delicious and can't wait to return on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fufu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

this place never disappoints. been there 5 times over 20 years & it just keeps it's reputation. went with 3 couples to celebrate our meeting on a cruise in France; it continued our great times & delicious culinary experiences

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eclmom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing