We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Escoffier Restaurant - CLOSED

Escoffier Restaurant
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

A member of our family is a CIA alumni, so we decided to make a visit to the restaurant and visit campus after nearly 30 years. We had a wonderful experience by the students with terrific food. Presentation is superb with an excellent menu and wine list. Unfortunately this restaurant is undergoing renovations and will be closed for a short-time being along with undergoing a name change. We ate at one of the last meals for this restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CentPATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Part of the CIA, Hyde Park. The Culinary students work hard to make this a great dining experience. Classic french food is always good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Impressive place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Food is always great. The wine list isn't bad, the service is green as one would expect but enthusiastic. We even got a tour of the kitchen! Grounds are gorgeous

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KooKoo4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Have the Trout if it's offered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Exciting dining experience. Student staff very eager to please and they do

Helpful?
Thank joan7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leldel@optonline.net
Level Contributor
161 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hyde Park GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have lived well over 20 years within one hour of Hyde Park, NY and never considered going to this area. Got a gift card for Christmas and made the trip last weekend. What a great area. Toured the Roosevelt Museum/Home/Library. Walked along the Hudson then went to C.I.A. Escoffier is the French Restaurant, there are several others. Simply put, I had the best rack of lamb ever. The service is fantastic. All done by students with the watchful eye of their proctors. Spend a day in the area, Visit the Vanderbilt Mansion and the Roosevelt Grounds then have a wonderful dinner at C.I.A . Its pricey but well worth it. There are B&Bs and hotels in the area if you wish to stay overnight. There are a number of colleges in the area therefore be mindful of booking in advance. It can be quite busy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing