We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Hyde Park Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After visiting the FDR sites, and sweating through the Vanderbilt Mansion, my wife and I needed a cold drink. We sat at the bar, and the bartender was very knowledgeable about the local beers. Wasn't interested in a national brand, but wanted something "chewy". Her (bartender) suggestion was great and it hit the spot. Food was very good also. Not much to look at while inside, but we didn't go there for the ambience. Beer was cold, food was hot, and people were friendly. What more could a traveler ask for?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    127
    45
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Even if you are not into beer, this is a really good stop for lunch or dinner. Delicious food and great service in a relaxed atmosphere. Prices are also very reasonable. Love the French Onion Soup and Turkey Reuben Sandwich. If you in Hyde Park, you should stop by.

Helpful?
Thank aglgsdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
505 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Pretty Ordinary”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

All around average experience, except for the service, which was friendly and attentive. The restaurant does not have much ambiance, if any. FDR pictures are on the wall, but more could be done to give this place more of a cozy, pub feeling. We were seated immediately, even though this place should have been packed at the height of the dinner hour on a Saturday night. Our waiter visited us immediately and took our beer orders. The beer, which was the daily dark special, was good, but the follow-up meal was just average. We cook grass-fed beef steaks and burgers at home, but found the grass-fed burger had a musty taste, almost as if a lamb and a bull got together to produce the burger. I had the pulled pork sandwich, and found it lacking in flavor. I'm a huge sauce fan, and the description of the sauce was too good to pass up, but this sauce was barely there. A slice of cheese and onions topped the sandwich, but they didn't have much flavor either. I have to say, the bun was outstanding. Very fresh and tasty. Overall, we would most likely drop in for a beer again at the bar, because that area looked nice, but we'll skip the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great burger! One of the best!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stopped by here after visiting FDR house and was pleasantly surprised. One of the best burgers I have had in quiet some time along with possible the best fries also. Service was excellent and food served quickly. Great place for a couple or for a family at lunch. Will stop back if in the area next time

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palexa401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Beer was Good”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stopped in after a day at the Roosevelt Library and Home. After reading the bad reviews about the food we just had a couple of pints of their lager. Pretty good but tasted more like an ale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing