We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only get to award 5 stars?”
Review of American Bounty

American Bounty
Reserve with OpenTable
American Bounty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: With a focus on the seasons and products of the Hudson Valley, contemporary and traditional regional dishes are brought to life at the American Bounty Restaurant in an honest and flavorful way. Rounded out with a first-class American wine list and comfortable warm service, this casually elegant restaurant sets the stage for an unparalleled dining experience in New York's Hudson Valley.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We only get to award 5 stars?”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

What a treat. Being from the UK we were not quite sure what to expect from the Culinary Institute of America, or the American Bounty Restaurant.
After being astonished at the huge size and scope of the Institute our meal surpassed our expectations.
Staffed by students, who as we understand it cook the food as well as supplying the waiting staff, we were ushered into a sophisticated and handsome dining room, where our Korean undergraduate waiter treated us in a solicitous, under-stated and friendly manner we were very impressed by.
The food was delicious. My wife had a goats tart starter and I ate a Corn Chowder, both of which were outstanding. Our main courses of salmon and lamb chops were vividly flavoured and of the right size of portion.
Try this unique establishment, it was a treat from start to finish and we highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScotsRoad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    69
    29
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had wanted to visit the Culinary Institute of America (CIA) on previous visits to Hyde Park. Was finally able to make it for dinner in July 2014. Was not disappointed. Student chefs prepare exquisite meals. Service is outstanding. Prices are a bit high. No tipping but 17% is added to your bill and helps fund student scholarships. Restaurant itself (located in a large building with other CIA restaurants) is really lovely. It's a must-do when in Hyde Park. Reservations, sometimes a day or more in advance, are necessary.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife rec'd a gift card for the Culinary Institute and we drove 1+ hrs. to get there.
We were not disappointed. The food and service we excellent. A bit pricey but worth it.
We're coming back in the fall to try the Italian restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty but not at all fussy”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I don't tend to like involved restaurant experiences. I like good food, but I'm not a fan of all the other "stuff" that comes along with a "nice" restaurant. American Bounty was perfect. It was delicious, the staff was all nice, but it was not pretentious or fussy. I've eaten at other CIA locations and restaurants and this was my favorite by far.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I was skeptical after having had a disappointing meal at Bocuse about a year and a half ago but this fare did not disappoint! Attentive service, perfect seasonings, varied flavors made for a wonderful lunch experience!

Helpful?
Thank YogaMamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Bounty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing