We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I've had a long while”
Review of American Bounty

American Bounty
Reserve with OpenTable
American Bounty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: With a focus on the seasons and products of the Hudson Valley, contemporary and traditional regional dishes are brought to life at the American Bounty Restaurant in an honest and flavorful way. Rounded out with a first-class American wine list and comfortable warm service, this casually elegant restaurant sets the stage for an unparalleled dining experience in New York's Hudson Valley.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had a long while”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I like me some expensive food, since it usually means it's quality, but down in New York City that doesn't always hold. For the price of a slightly expensive lunch, with a low automatic gratuity, I was treated to a delicious meal that I could tell was prepared with the utmost of care. I came on a Saturday without a reservation and just happened to arrive when someone canceled, so I didn't have any expectations and imagine you have to reserve well in advance. But fortune smiled upon me, and my tastebuds reaped the benefits. Seemed to me it was finals, because every student we encountered was just about shaking with nervousness, but the effect was endearing and the meal absolutely to die for. I think a visit to each of the CIA restaurants would be a trip unto itself. This is food that will slow you down and beg you to savor every bite. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IAmNotAnArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    73
    29
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A EPICURIAN DELIGHT AND EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We arrived at noon and were immediately seated near the large windowed kitchen in full view of desserts being made. WOW. We decided to take advantage of the special 3 course $22 special and it was wonderful. The excellent service and fine food made this trip to the CIA worth the long ride.
The American Bounty is decorated in a comfortable atmosphere of warm colors and a view of the scenic courtyard or kitchen (I prefer the kitchen). The family commented that "It's more an experience than just a meal". After leaving we wandered over to the apple pie commissary and purchased several pastries to take home.
We have now experienced the Caterina De Medici but prefer the American Bounty for its overall enjoyment

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tappantoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uneven Experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I had been anticipating for many years a trip to the CIA and its restaurants but until recently hadn't found a justification for the two hour drive. The place is literally a campus with a splendid vista overlooking the Hudson River. The grounds and buildings were replete with students wearing chef's coats and checked trousers all of whom wanted to be helpful. In an pleasant way, it's as if a cult has overrun the place.

The meal at American Bounty leaves me with mixed feelings. The young staff training to be professionals were invariably enthusiastic and solicitous. We were never without bread and water, and crumbs were brushed away flawlessly. On the other hand, there were some odd gaps and faux pas. A waiter couldnt tell me how much a cocktail cost and wasnt aware of where the fish on the menu came from. In promoting a mushroom bisque which was not on the menu, a waiter said the soup had been praised when served to a banquet the previous day.

The menu has some problems. I dont understand why you would pollute a smoked duck entree with a gloppy bed of cloying curried onions. At 28 bucks for the dish you would not expect it to be dominated by components from a bangladeshi hash house. A lukewarm cioppino was marred by a flavorless tomato sauce and nearly dissolved hake.

The abovementioned mushroom bisque was superb (probably because it had in fact been prepared a day or two earlier). The desserts were very good and the fresh-baked bread was excellent. It may be a little item, but the crostini (served with caesar salad) slathered with pureed roast garlic and topped with an anchovy was perfect.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VincentvanGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Higlights of the trip”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I went to American Bounty Restaurant at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park New York. There were 4 of us in the party. The food is very nice, especially the deserts. Other than the food, I am very impressed by the passion of the students (who are running the restaurant). If you plan to dine there, please make sure that you made the reservation well ahead of time. It is quite difficult to secure a reservation on weekend. Also do spare extra time to walk around and take pictures. The Institute per se is a very classic construction. The surrounding scene (by the Hudson Valley) is stunning too. My previous visit (without dinning) took place during the fall. The fall foliage was marvelous. I would definitely go again when the weather becomes warmer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

As this restaurant is set on the campus of the world famous Culinary Institute of America, student chefs trade places as waiters and waitresses. The kitchen is open for guided tours as they cook your meal. The service, from host and hostess to the bar tender, is designed to make you feel comfortable as no other dining experience ever has. This is no fast food joint. This is 5-star dining at its highest level. The menu suggests talking to the staff; they are only too willing to engage in conversation about their culinary education and career path. No request is too big or too small and they are eager to make you feel special. What other restaurant can claim a staff of hard working people who love what they are doing and smile while they do it? You will smile when you leave from having the best meal (experience) of your life.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitch220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Bounty also viewed

 

Been to American Bounty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing