We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pilgrimage”
Review of Val-Kill Cottage

Val-Kill Cottage
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Eleanor Roosevelt that is located on the Roosevelt estate and is open to the public.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a pilgrimage”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was glad to have made the pilgrimage, but the visitors center and house themselves are unimpressive. If time is short, spend the extra time at the presidential library.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunya354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    93
    24
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our tour guide was fabulous with sharing the history of the house and the items that have been recovered. We were lucky to be in a small group so we got to go upstairs. Definitely would recommend going in the morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A meaningful tour”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We took the guided tour of Eleanor Roosevelt's Val Kill cottage, and it was highly worthwhile. Our guide had known Eleanor personally and had been a guest there during the former first lady's lifetime. She let us see all of the house, as well as the original stone cottage. It was all recreated very faithfully, and the atmosphere was cozy and warm as it must have been back then.

Our tour guide shared a lot of information, and I almost felt like we had stepped back in time as we went through Eleanor's beloved home and memories. This tour was a wonderful example of the meaningful experiences that can be found in a beautiful historic place. I think our specific guide made the difference.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank explorergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
437 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“great stop! excellent film and ranger tour!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The film alone is worth a stop. Our ranger, Victor, did a fine and personable tour--with special attention to children as well as to adult history buffs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff at the home was friendly but honestly didn't seem as well informed about her subject as the other tour guides we encountered throughout HydePark.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Val-Kill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing