We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Home”

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit FDR's 1826 home that remains almost exactly as it was at the time of the president's death in 1945, including the stables, icehouses, a walking trail, and the graves of Franklin and Eleanor located in the Rose Garden.
Memphis
Level Contributor
554 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Historic Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Touring the Roosevelt family home was a flashback to yesteryear. The house itself is interesting but only a small part of what is on the ground of the estate. It is a quick and worthwhile visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    227
    44
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Learned a lot about the Roosevelt family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

On two previous trips in the area, we had driven into the property, but never saw the house. This time, we decided to tour the house, and finally were led to it by a guide, hidden back in the rear of the property. Previously, I had visited Eleanor Roosevelt's house and was glad to see more of the historical family place.
There is a tour that takes in both sites, Eleanor's home and this home. A trolley takes you back and forth. If we had not been limited on time, I would have done this.
I knew little about Franklin Roosevelt as a person. I knew he was in a wheelchair and I knew he had mistresses. Oh, of course he was President of the US. I was much more impressed with Eleanor's accomplishments. Hearing his whole life story led us to want to know more. We purchased books at the gift shop, especially the one suggested by our tour guide.
The house is lovely and spacious. The lay out of the rooms shows the lifestyle of that time...a place to retire and relax, bedrooms for very special guests, the servants' quarters and work areas, etc. The Roosevelt family lived there in fall and spring. I had never realized that Franklin's mother owned the house and the family usually lived with her. No wonder Eleanor built her own house and retreat!
The guide was knowledgeable,and the groups small enough to see everything. We visited on a weekday morning. I suggest seeing the introductory movie and looking at the floor map of the area.
A hint that was given to us...if you are above 62, buy the senior pass for $10 and you and your guests can then visit National sites for free. My sister did this, and we visited several places free while we were in the Hudson River Valley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbabe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
271 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“It's the library you should go to ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

... and not the home. The house is what old money builds, dark, dreary and unimpressive. But the presidential library that's part of the property, that's a different story. If you grew up during the Depression or World War II, heard about them from your parents or grandparents or just learned of them in school, the FDR library is a place you must go. Plan on half a day. You'll still wish you had stayed longer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visiting the home of FDR is a very worthwhile experience. The area and grounds, on the Hudson, is beautiful. The home, museum, and FDR library are fascinating. For those who know little about the history, it will be very informative. For those who do, there are numerous small facts and exhibits that are sure to tell you something new. The Vanderbuilt mansion, 2 miles away, is worth visiting as well. It is best to take an entire day for these visits, as there is so much to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fun and history all in one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a good time mingled in with history . My first visit was at 9 years old with my mommy . Now mommy is a grannie and i'm getting old but we still had fun .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing