We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“park guide was excellent”

Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 54-room mansion could be considered modest for a Vanderbilt.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“park guide was excellent”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our tour guide was very good, he had a good grasp of the Vanderbilts', and he was pleasant. The Mansion is nice to see how the 'other half' lived!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hitthehighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    285
    63
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
COLLEGEVILLE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful historic mansion”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love to visit old houses, and the Vanderbilt Mansion did not disappoint me. It's a great old house, with beautiful furnishings and an interesting story. Make sure to allow plenty of time so that you can take the full tour of the house and spend time walking the grounds. And by the way, the walk down to the river on the north end of the property is great exercise and affords a wonderful connection with the Hudson River. They also have a fun museum store, though on my low budget, I couldn't afford anything. It's a bit pricey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon trip”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Vanderbilt home is definitely worth seeing. We got there later in the day, so we didn't have a lot of time to explore some of the grounds, but the house itself was absolutely amazing. Our tour guide, Ranger Bob, was also excellent. You could tell that he really loved this home and his job. He almost made the home come alive again....even in the off season.

I also like that non-flash photography is allowed within the home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedEyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning home, well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This really is a beautiful property, and gives a real insight to how the wealthy New Yorkers used to live. It's the equivalent of their holiday home, but what a holiday home! The guide was excellent, and he told us this is the smallest of the Vanderbilt mansions, but it's still a huge property. Beautiful decor, and definitely worth comparing with the Roosevelt property which is next door to see how those who were born to money lived compared to those who made money. This property is far more ostentatious than FDR's family home. There are lovely grounds, and beautiful views, and I suspect you could spend a day here wandering the home and garden. However, if you're on a tight schedule, try to make a full day and catch both this house and FDR's (although don't skip the FDR library as it's got the car and other bits of interest there). If you have enjoyed watching TV shows such as Downton Abbey and Mr Selfridge you'll enjoy visiting this property.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over the top vanderbilt estate”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just like the other Vanderbilt Estates, Federicks estate is just like his other brothers homes/estates. Money for them was no object, they bought the best and just over spent on everything. The state is just about a mile away from FDR's home. Both can be seen in one day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing