We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Renovation until June 2013”

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic site features the home and estate of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Springwood, and the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, the only Presidential Library used by a sitting president. It was conceived and built under President Roosevelt's direction and opened to the public in 1941.The Library's mission is to foster research and education on the life and times of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, and their continuing impact on contemporary life. Our work is carried out by four major areas: Archives, Museum, Education and Public Programs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Maryland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Under Renovation until June 2013”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just a limited photo/ videao exhibit is on display right now. Will reopen this summer. But the photos are good and interesting

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAJOR1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    182
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Hudson”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A must see for any history buff or just take a stroll along the Hudson. This is a beautiful area and attraction. Plan a picnic and go over to the Vanderbilt Mansion after seeing FDR's place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie_Mike1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Library being renovated, Museum disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The library was being renovated so we didn't get to see it, but we can come back on the same ticket in the summer when it opens. Thanks to the guard at the library that gave us that information. It would have been nice for the ticket seller to inform us of the renovation when we bought the tickets. The museum was pictures and boards of information to read. FDR house is a real museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pigismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still under renovation so the substitute display isn't the full museum offering.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were disappointed that the renovation of the museum wasn't complete. However the photo and film display was very well put together and informative. Our tickets for this display will be honored again when the renovation is complete and the museum is fully functional in June 2013.
We look forward to another trip to the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbieandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Under renovations but still great”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The library is only open for the film and photo collection part. The rest will re-open in June of this year. We were told to hold onto our receipts and return at any time when the full library is available and re-enter for free. You could spend alot of time here - all very interesting. A very interesting family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rokamabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing