We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A decent property. Room and Bath were clean. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was OK ... not a huge selection, but enough to keep one from starving!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: We were traveling with our small dog and they gave us a room on the first floor near an exit, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimisusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
51
45
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our room was just fine, thank you. We were impressed by how spacious it was compared to other chains, with both a desk and a table, a double granite sink, and plenty of lamps, which is also unusual. The breakfast had sausage and some sort of prepared egg patty (which I didn't try), as well as yogurt, boiled eggs, oatmeal, bagels, and cold cereal. My only complaint was the lack of bananas. The adjacent foyer area was also quite large with lots of seating, but the TV was in pretty sad shape and needed to be replaced.

Room Tip: The numbering on the rooms is crazy! Just because it says, for example, Room 301, that does not mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estella03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Night clerk was gracious and our room was one of the nicest I've seen in a Quality Inn - I was primed to write a glowing review. However, the morning's events soured the stay. At breakfast,there was no fruit - it happens - NOT a big deal. A bigger deal - there was no drinking water available - just a sign on the wall stating that bottled water was for sale at the front desk. Seemed a bit harsh in an establishment charging $90/night? I politely inquired at the front desk, apparently offending the day manager in the process. In spite of a concerted effort to end things on a pleasant note, it was all downhill from there. The District Manager has yet to answer my email inquiry...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grants hotels

Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This roadside motel is in need of some care and attention. The rooms are clean enough but everything is worn, tired and in need of attention. It is a little like you nice aunt's place that she bought in 1982, she doesn't notice the wear but everyone else does. It is not that it smells bad, but just a little funny. I booked on line from the Choice site and clearly did not pick the best property on the overnight stay strip. But hey, it is safe, clean and a good value. What more do you really need for a motor-trip hotel. Breakfast below average for like properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesonwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband stopped here for a night on a trip from Chicago to San Diego. I am a clean freak and very paranoid of finding bed bugs in hotel rooms. My husband's clean standards are almost as high as mine. We both have a negative mentality about Quality Inn's. Our destination goal was Gallup, where we had stayed at a lovely La Quinta on another road trip. I looked up numbers and called Gallup hotels as we neared 2 hours until our destination, only to discover EVERY hotel in Gallup was full. With past Quality Inn experiences being horrific, I had to convince my husband (thanks to the reviews on this site!) that it was at least worth inspecting the room.

We were given a suite and I give a full inspection! Check for stains, pull back the covers for bed bugs, check pillows, behind night stands, everywhere I could (minus lifting up the TV for dust). This place is quality clean! I was so pleasantly surprised! Quiet, the bed was comfortable; we had a great night's sleep!

I have learned that while some Quality Inn's are a step away from a "by the hour" dive, not all Quality Inn's are alike! We will be giving much more consideration to Quality Inn's in the future, and seek this place out if we take a road trip down I40 again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musicmeg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a renovated older hotel. It was clean, had big comfortable beds, and the first floor room we were in was dry even though it was pouring rain all night. There were no pancakes in the morning, but that was ok, there were some eggs and sausage. Not a wow, but perfectly acceptable, I gave it four stars because it was very good if your are looking for something clean and convenient. I wish that were the average stay, but it isn't always, and we appreciate no surprises after a long day's drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYt0AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First funny thing: when we checked in, we were shown a map of where our room was and given two keys. We got to the room and the keys wouldn't work. My husband went to the front desk and they had accidentally wrote the wrong room number on the key sleeve. This place was not busy at all, maybe two other cars in the parking lot, so how that could happen, is strange. He got that straightened out-the room was across the hall-right where she showed us on the map. Ok.....The A/C wouldn't turn on in our room, so my husband went back to the desk to aks about it.. They called maintenince who promplty arrived and set the re-set button and the air worked great after that.
My husband left early for a meeting, and I left the hotel at 10:30 AM, and arrived back at 2:00 PM. The first thing I had to do was to have my key re-swiped because it didn't work anymore. The girl at the front desk was very helpful, but said they had only put us down for one night instead of two, so that's why the key didn't work anymore. Uhm...ok We had reserved the room online for two nights.
When I was finally able to get into the room, I discovered Housekeeping hadn't been there. The unmade bed wasn't too big an issue, but we were put in an accessible room, for some reason, with a "roll in" shower with two drains in the floor. Well, when you take a shower, water goes everywhere, so we had to use every towel and the bath mat to soak it up.
I went back to the front desk to ask about maid serveice and "Kayla" was very surprised the room hadn't been cleaned. She told me they wouldn't clean the room if anyone is in it and I reminded her I had alreadybeen gone for 3 1/2 hours. She said she would call Housekeeping and I asked her to please call me to let me know they were on their way so I could leave, which she promptly did.
I had no where to go, so I went and sat in the car for 10 minutes with the air condiditoning on, which was really ok-not a big deal. Upon my return to the room, the bed was nicely made, but there were no clean towels! The wet towels we had used after showers and to mop the floor were still in the bathroom! Again, I made the trek to the front desk and poor Kayla was dumbfounded and embarrased. She called Housekeeping and no one answered, so she and I went to the Housekeeping room nearby and she graciously handed me some towels. She asked if I wanted the wet towels taken from the room and I said it didn't matter at this point. Two maids were coming back when we walked out and Kayla told them we had needed the towels and to please get the wet ones from the room. A maid came with me to the room and took the towels and she said she hated cleaning this particular room because of all the water after a shower and that it's the only room that this happens in. Ok, well.........she was friendly enough, but still! Oh, and no replenishment of the little soaps or shampoo.
This was Kayla's first day working the desk alone, and she's not to blame. She did everything she could to remedy the situation.
The breakfast wasn't great, but people seemed to enjoy it. They did have oatmeal and yogurt so there were healthy options besides the "egg" patties and sausage. What was there was nicely displayed.
Would we stay here again if traveling this way, probably not. A big beetle crawled out from under the dresser this morning....I know that happens everywhere, but it was just another thing. Also, the room had a strange smell to it that we couldn't pinpoint. My husband said "paint" or "old lemons." I'm just not sure. It wasn't bad enough to have to switch rooms, I just wish I knew what the smell was! The bedding was very nice and the water got good and hot in the shower. The carpet is very clean from what I saw and in our room. Maybe it's new and that's the smell-or maybe it has just been cleaned. I'll never know. Exercise room is tiny, but better than nothing. Pool and hot tub are indoors and look clean and inviting, actually. I didn't hear any noises, voices or doors during the night. There didn't seem to be many people here at all. I did see a man in a room a few doors down with a god, but had I not seen it, would never have known.The outside entry door has a key card entry, but was broken, so anyone could come into the hotel, not just guests. That would have bothered me more if we had children staying with us.
Oh, there's no elevator. We asked for the first floor, so that wasn't an issue (may be why we had the room we did) and we usually take the stairs most times anyway, but just another FYI.
La Ventana is the place to eat. It's less than two miles away.
PS I'm at the hotel writing this now...............I just had to. It could have been alot worse, but Trip Advisor reviews have been very helpful to me, so I had to share our experience. Kayla was nice and did her best. There was a sign that said manager on duty was Donna.....something, but she said she was here alone.

Room Tip: Our room was good sized.....accessible with King bed. Bathrom was good sized. I don't know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grants
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Grants
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#6 of 11 in Grants
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
104 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sky City Casino Hotel
Sky City Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pueblo of Acoma
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Grants
Red Lion Hotel Grants
#7 of 11 in Grants
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1496 E Santa Fe Ave, Grants, NM 87020-4008 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Grants
Holiday Inn Grants
Grants Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing