We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Grants
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly breakfast”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a good check in. The room was large with all usual things. But the hotel is in desperate need of a good deep clean, the plumbing is on the noisy side too. It has so much going for it. We didn't spot the enormous indoor pool area and spa until we were leaving. The hotel is very roomy. There s a restaurant on site which like the hotel needs a good vacuum clean. Breakfast was a jolly affair and no-one was allowed to leave hungry. Despite the hotel needed cleaning etc we did enjoy our stay. It was a little different to the usual chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We are striving for perfection. We are working on our deep cleaning on a daily basis. I want to Thank You for the feedback and assure your that any feedback is noted and addressed . We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    35
    20
    17
See reviews for
45
34
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in Grants this past weekend for a wedding. Since the reception was being held at Red Lion, we decided to stay there to make things easy. So glad we did!

Upon check in, we were greeted by a very sweet woman. Sorry didn't get your name! The first room we were given had two beds. My wife and I returned to the front desk and our request for a king room was granted without any questions. Unfortunately, this room faced the indoor pool and my wife felt uncomfortable with that. So we went back to request for another room, and again switched without an issue!

Everyone we encountered at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. This was the first time staying at Red Lion and will stay again in the future because of the experience we had on this trip.

Free breakfast, consisting of eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, and biscuits was included. Nothing fancy, but good. Pool was indoor so you cannot work on your tan.

Few things to note. First, our non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Second, we heard the loud music from the hotel bar on Saturday night and it didn't end until a little past midnight. My friend stayed all the way at the end of the hallway, but still could hear the music also. Third, the hot tub was out of order.

If you are traveling with children or an early sleeper, request a room that is furthest from the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealestReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will address the music issue with the Lounge staff. I am so glad that you were treated with respect and that your issues were taken care of . I hope that we will see you all again soon. Our purpose is to make you as comfortable as possible and make your stay here a GREAT one.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crump, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was fine for the price. If I wanted a room that nicer, brighter and cleaner I'd drop an extra $30 or so and go to the Best Western, but I wouldn't do that unless I had a gift card because I'm a cheap skate. But seriously it is a fine hotel for the price. The only issues were the pillows were a little awkward because they were thicker than most and the pool and hot tub were down but for us those aren't usually deal breakers. Though if you are looking forward to the using the pool you will want to ask about it first. Along with good service there was also a hot breakfast with eggs made to order.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
First off I would like to Thank you for the feed back. I do hope you choose our hotel in the future.
We strive everyday to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first time I stayed here, the room was dirty to the point of being disgusting. I couldn't wait to leave. The internet was so slow that it was impossible to do a any business on.

I gave up on RL but I thought I'd give it one more go with a suite. Before I booked the room, I asked if they have a treadmill and specifically asked if it was working. I was lied to and told that it was fixed. The front desk confirmed that this had been broken for a long time and will continue to be down for an indefinite amount of time. That's the wrong answer.. I don't want to hear that you've given up hope on fixing your problems. I want to hear that you will do your best and the problem WILL be resolved by my next stay!

I got the same attitude when I inquired about the internet. Before I booked my stay, I asked the hotel clerk if the internet is still slow and unstable. She replied that she was aware that "it works for some people and not for other people". That's not the answer I was looking for. I want to hear that maintenance is working on the issue and to see it get resolved in the near future. Obviously, they have a problem and are unwilling to get it fixed.

Even the suite was very dirty to the point of being disgusting. I cancelled 2 nights of my stay because of all these negatives. When I got in my SUITE, the room was hot and AC was turned off in the middle of summer. I also attempted to use the refrigerator and it was also turned off to save electricity. The thermostat had a sign on it to not turn lower than 68 or the AC will freeze up. Taping a sign to the thermostat is not fixing the underlying problem!

I found black mold growing in the shower. I also found a mysterious brown substance caked on to the power cord for the blow dryer. The toilet had something growing near the wall. I also looked behind the night stand and found tons of crumbs and a couple of receipts. The oldest receipt was dated from 2 months ago! Let me remind you, I had one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel.

I would not stay here again. It has an old feel with lousy customer service. I don't appreciate the apathy of the staff and being lied to about the exercise equipment. RL needs to send someone from corporate to shut this place down!

Room Tip: Explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I did see some of the issues that were stated. addressed these issues. Got them taken care I do hope you will return and let us show you we value you as a customer. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grants hotels

Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Older hotel that has been remodeled with very comfortable beds, sbeets and pillows. Room definately shows signs of aging and could use some maintenance. I will definitely stay again probably next week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feed back! We are striving to improve and I truly hope you return.We look forward to seeing you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Texas. booked it on the hotels web Site. The hotel needs major updating. This doesn't compare to the other Red Lions. Check in was easy. Our room was large, comfortable bed, old tube TV, fridge and microwave. Ice machine was broken, thermostat had a sign saying not to move below 68 degrees or it will freeze up! It was hard to keep the room cool. The shower water temperature was difficult to control, went from cold to scorching easily. Breakfast was hectic. The waitress was handling the whole room alone, didn't realize we got a cooked to order breakfast. There were no menus or anything. She was very nice and outgoing though. I would recommend this hotel for the show Hotel Impossible. We wouldn't stay here again unless it was renovated and had major improvements.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmacetheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working to addres the issue pointed out. I assure the travler that when they return to our property we are going to WOW you with improvement. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great place to relax after a long day of driving. The onsite bar was a welcome treat as there was no other place in town to get a cocktail past 10pm. There is a full restaurant, but we arrived after hours. Friendly people, from the desk clerk and bartender, to the housekeeping staff. Complimentary, cooked-to-order breakfast. Try the chorizo omelet. The fresh salsa is to die for, so make sure to ask for some!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, but do need some maintenance (tub draining a little slow and a/c filter dirty). There is an exercise room overlooking an indoor patio, pool, and hot tub.
This hotel will definitely be our go-to place the next time we travel Route 66!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisin_doodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Grants, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you your wonderful review. We love the feedback and love the guest. A happy guest makes for a Happy Hotel. Thank you Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grants
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#5 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sky City Casino Hotel
Sky City Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pueblo of Acoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Grants
Travelodge Grants
#4 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Grants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Grants

Property: Red Lion Hotel Grants
Address: 1501 E Santa Fe Ave, Grants, NM 87020
Location: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Grants 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 40 on historic Route 66, the Red Lion Hotel Grants is a full service hotel offering comfort and affordability to business, government and military and leisure travelers. With its location and amenities, the Red Lion Hotel Grants is the perfect place to call home while conducting business or exploring the beauty of New Mexico. This hotel's large guest rooms offer king or queen beds, free Wi-Fi and cable television with HBO®. Suites with separate living rooms are available. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary full breakfast, morning newspaper, indoor pool, fitness center and steam room. Meeting and banquet facilities and many business services are also available.The Red Lion Hotel Grants is located in the heart of Western New Mexico, offering guests easy access to the many scenic, historic and cultural attractions nearby including ancient Anasazi ruins and Native American Pueblos. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy close proximity to mountain biking, cross country skiing and an abundance of hiking trails. Sights such as El Morro National Monument, Fort Wingate or Chaco Canyon make an excellent daytrip and the hotel's staff is available to help make these arrangements. Other nearby attractions include Blue Water State Park and Sky City Casino.Come be amazed by the wonders of New Mexico. The friendly staff of the Red Lion Hotel Grants is waiting to ensure a memorable stay. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Grants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Grants
Best Western Grants
Grants Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing