We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting tired of this hotel going downhill...no matter who the owners ars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Grants
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Getting tired of this hotel going downhill...no matter who the owners ars”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Been visiting this hotel as best western and now Red Lion for 10 years. Stayed there last night and the breakfast was still terrible and the hallways cold...even the staff were wearing coats. TV had stations that did not match either the guide they supplied or the labels on screen. Room was cold. Toilets flushed with lots of effort. Basically 10 years is long enough! Never again! Unfortunately the HI express is way over priced for the area so we may have to skip this town in the future!

Room Tip: Forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MactheHandiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    35
    20
    17
See reviews for
45
34
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wi-fi is a joke, almost non-existent. Mentioned to front desk twice. Was told "Oh yeah there was a big bang noise there once and it's been like that ever since" and "yeah it's like that along that row of rooms". If they know it's a problem FIX IT. Never offered to change rooms just lame excuses. Room was freezing, crank the heat up only to find after working all day in the cold the staff had turned the a/c on full blast. Staff carried over from when it was a Best Western were and continue to be friendly and professional. New staff I encountered, well probably the worse I've dealt with in 7 years of living in hotels travleing for work. Avoid this place if your in town for business, otherwise not worth the rate. Also advised our corporate office to drop the account due to lack of service.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grants hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

While every other part of this hotel/motel was quite good, the wifi ruined the experience.

The rooms are nice and the breakfast is exceptional.

The wifi was absurd. It took a full 5 minutes for the authentication web page to download, just so I could enter their password. Then it took another 3 minutes for the password to upload. Once that was done, the network was either extremely slow or non-existant. The 3 routers were all weak, and the signal level varied so that most of the time only one showed up. It kept disconnecting or refusing to pass on my data. Assigned IP addresses kept changing, even though they should not have.

Some web pages seemed to work okay, but most just froze or failed to load at all. Email programs timed out, with error messages. Basically, we finally gave up. We'll check our email tomorrow night, after we move on to another motel.

We were here 2 nights. One desk clerk told us that the network was always this way. Another told us that she had never had any complaints. The one other patron I talked to told me that 2 of the 3 members of his family had been completely unable to connect from their rooms. He finally came to the lobby to use the PC there.

I'm writing this from the lobby, too. There's no way I could do this from my room.

If I didn't want to check email and check out some of the local interest web sites, this motel would have been fine. As it is, there are plenty of other motels here in Grants, and we will try a different one on our next trip.

You may wonder if I'm overreacting, but I used a dialup modem for many years, and that was MUCH better than this. I've traveled all over the US and lots of places around the world, and never run into anything this bad before.

Frankly, this Red Lion would be better off getting rid of this wireless service. No wireless at all would be better than the disapointment of really bad service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The lobby is very nice... looks like an expensive hotel. The rooms were very comforable and clean. They have a great restaurant and bar in house , but have mixed feelings ablout the restaurant. We ate there on the evening of our arrival (Sun. Oct. 7, 2012 ) and had a waiter that had alot of problems and an attitude. The meals were quite good, but the waiter ruined the meals. The bartender for that evening (in the really nice bar) was very friendly and nice.Overall, if you are traveling through New Mexico on route 40 , and need a most reasonable place to stay for the nighht,.... the Red Lion is definately a must !!!!!!

Room Tip: I wouldnt imagine any bad rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamping Ground, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

On a long road trip east to west. This place was a touch of heaven. Huge, super clean rooms with bright, calming decor = no paneling in sight! The facility is inviting and pleasant. The wonderful suprise was the on-site restaurant. I enjoyed a yummy salad, warm rolls and glass of red wine. Oh my - and a great night's rest on a comfy bed. Breakfast was varied and delicious. Ready for another day of driving. I would readily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ride4light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

At first glance, the hotel looked quite good. The price was reasonable and having an in-house bar and restaurant was a plus, although both were in need of an upgrade. The room was large and clean but was run down, especially the plumbing. The walls were thin and we could hear the neighbour's voices. The Internet was slow. The morning housekeeping staff were annoying as they were banging on doors even those who were checking out. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night. They staff was very friendly and nice. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The small little boutique store in the lobby is nice! Good breakfast too! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grants
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#5 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sky City Casino Hotel
Sky City Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pueblo of Acoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Grants
Travelodge Grants
#4 of 11 in Grants
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Grants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Grants

Property: Red Lion Hotel Grants
Address: 1501 E Santa Fe Ave, Grants, NM 87020
Location: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Grants 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 40 on historic Route 66, the Red Lion Hotel Grants is a full service hotel offering comfort and affordability to business, government and military and leisure travelers. With its location and amenities, the Red Lion Hotel Grants is the perfect place to call home while conducting business or exploring the beauty of New Mexico. This hotel's large guest rooms offer king or queen beds, free Wi-Fi and cable television with HBO®. Suites with separate living rooms are available. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary full breakfast, morning newspaper, indoor pool, fitness center and steam room. Meeting and banquet facilities and many business services are also available.The Red Lion Hotel Grants is located in the heart of Western New Mexico, offering guests easy access to the many scenic, historic and cultural attractions nearby including ancient Anasazi ruins and Native American Pueblos. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy close proximity to mountain biking, cross country skiing and an abundance of hiking trails. Sights such as El Morro National Monument, Fort Wingate or Chaco Canyon make an excellent daytrip and the hotel's staff is available to help make these arrangements. Other nearby attractions include Blue Water State Park and Sky City Casino.Come be amazed by the wonders of New Mexico. The friendly staff of the Red Lion Hotel Grants is waiting to ensure a memorable stay. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Grants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Grants
Best Western Grants
Grants Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing