We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Ancient Lava Flows”

El Malpais National Monument
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Grants
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National monument with spectacular scenery.
Livermore,CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible Ancient Lava Flows”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The ancient lava flows, contrasting with characteristic southwest sandstone mesas make for an interesting combination. We enjoyed walking along the Sandstone Bluffs while looking out at the vast fields of ancient lava flows and picnicking to the call of fledgling peregrine falcons after a visit to La Ventana Arch. A drive down Chain of Crater's road took us to an area of lava tubes which we had to bypass as we were not suitable equipped (but we will be next time). A wild and unusual landscape.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trippingtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    67
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyed visiting el maples”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the facility is a friendly place to stop while on route 53 scenic drive off I-40 West. nature and good walking trails

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank veezoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been through here a few times on my motorcycle and it just gets better each time. The last time was July 2013 and the thunder storms were awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Family woke up early today. Wife and I looked at each other thinking why not take a day trip from Albuquerque within two hours. There are the standard obvious choices but we found El Malpais from a satellite image and was only an hour and a half drive. Not doing to much research prior to our visit we stopped at the visitors center. The visitors center was nice and clean with a number of hummingbirds flying about. We then headed south to the overlook, arch and lava hike on the Southern end. Daughter is 7 handing the hike like a champ. I wish we actually had more time to visit the park. For a weekend or day trip it is a great getaway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Scenery nice hike”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here as a not quite half way point on our Albuquerque to Petrified forest trip. We marked it as a good "get out and stretch our legs" stop. We saw some beautiful contrast between the rock colors - red, white and black (lava). The hike at the south end of The Narrows was almost too much for the younger two in our group (5 and 7). But great for the teenagers and mom. Take water! Make sure you ask the ranger to help you find the "hide and go seek" area toward the top of the hike. The kids had a great time scrambling down in the rocks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBear2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Malpais National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing