We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Really nice motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had a great night at this hotel/motel. Basically, it looks like a motel--two stories, outside entrances, parking spots for each room (free parking). But clearly the hotel was making an effort and it showed. The lobby area was nice--decorated in a sort of grandmotherly style, but once again the attention to detail was appreciated. Check-in was efficient, and the staff were very helpful in directing us to a pharmacy and a dinner spot.

The hotel is quite large--lots of rooms, a pool in the middle, a separate cottage where breakfast is served, and (randomly enough) an underground mining-themed bar. Breakfast was so-so; it included the fixings for an egg and sausage sandwich for my husband and fruit and yogurt for me, so we were fine.

The room was fine--clean, comfortable, bland. I liked the spacious counter around the sink. We had no problem using the wi-fi from our room. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, but it served its purpose.

Overall, at around $130/night all told, we found this a good value for the area with clean rooms and friendly service. The location was very good--close to the visitor's center, the National Cemetery, and the battlefields but also only a short walk to downtown. There are plenty of restaurants within in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    418
    109
    31
    26
See reviews for
485
440
57
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

In July, my friend & I took her 7 yr old son and I took my 2 -7yr old grandsons to visit Hershey for one night and Gettyburg for 2 nights. I admit, this was not my first choice for spending two nights. My first choices were sold out. We couldn't have been more pleased!!! We were directly across from the gettyburg museum and it happened that they had a 'camp' set up for the weekend. The boys were thrilled!! We had three queen beds, the free breakfast had everything we wanted and they loved the outside pool! The staff was very helpful with any request! The assigned parking in front of our room was helpful for our frequent trips back to the room from sightseeing. They liked it better than Hershey park! This will now be my FIRST choice to stay in Gettysburg (half the price of the hotel in Hershey)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is an overall great hotel. Great rooms, clean, nice layout. We stayed 4 nights. The breakfast was great, everything just fine... except for the internet access.... now, I guess you could say that on a vacation, we should be concentrating on having fun and not going online. However, we primarily keep in touch with family members who are all over the place, by email and social networks like FaceBook. The hotel advertises high-speed wireless internet but it totally stinks. I brought it up to the front desk and all this girl could say was, "we know about it... we just don't know why." So that's really the only negative. They could have at least looked into it after I brought it up. But they did not. We got a decent rate using a significant organization discount. The hotel is right on a main drag so it's walking distance to pretty much everything. I recommend it for anyone to stay but if you're counting on accessing the web, forget about it unless you walk up to the lobby with your laptop or netbook and use it there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our four day stay at the Quality Inn. The room was large and clean and everyone was nice and friendly. Having an outside pool was great, too. The trolley stopped right outside the hotel if you didn't want to walk into town, but the walk really isn't that far. There was a mini mart across the street for snacks. The breakfast was great - eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, bread and muffins. There were a lot of kids here. Parking was easy - we had an assigned spot right outside our room. For families - McDonald s and Friendly's was right across the street. The location for getting to the sites was great. There were many good restaurants within one to three blocks. Free internet was great, too.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I first stayed here with my son in 2003 in what quess is the slow season.we went on a whim and found this hotel after looking at two others.we could not have been more pleased. The staff were friendly and very helpful in getting us to places we wanted to visit. The hotel is in such a great location you can make a whole day of it by walking. When we got back around 4pm took a nap without any noise or interruptions. When we to dinner we were able to walk to a place. We then enjoyed the indoor pool . I have been back many times in the winter with ten inches of snow on the ground . I was surprised that the place was busy. I did not realize we were so close to fantastic skiing. With the snow and all people the hotel was still clean and the staff still helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldeisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We had mixed feelings about this hotel. The room was very big with 2 double beds and a sitting chair with ottoman. It also had chair and table. We had plenty of room for rollaway to be added. However, the furnishings were very dated and and AC did not work very well. During heat of the day (90's) with room completely dark it barely cooled the room. However, at night we were fine.

Our kids LOVED the pool, that was the highlight! The diving board and nice size was perfect for them. I also liked the fact I could sit on the porch and watch them and not sit at the pool. They are 10 & 13 and excellant swmmers so made it nice for me.

The internet connection was the pits!!! It was very slow if it worked at all. That was a real inconvenience as I really needed access at times.

Also, the breakfast was not the best. Besides the breakfast cottage being very small and never getting a place to sit. The food was so so. Great muffins and coffee, but that was about it. The poor ladies working there really worked hard replenishing stuff, they great.

Did laundry twice. Only one washer and one dryer. Wash was $1.25 and dryer was $1.00

You absolutely CAN NOT beat the location !!!! We walked to dinner each night, Dobbin House a few blocks, Tommy's pizza (eat there twice it was awesome) and Farnsworth Inn for a ghost hunt. Lots of shops near by also.

We would definitely return, but maybe during cooler months.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

I have been staying at the Quality Inn on Steinwehr Ave for almost twenty years now. It's always clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrumBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Property: Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Address: 380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car and walk to the battlefield, museums, attractions, shops, ghost stories and over a dozen restaurants! All of our 109 rooms are non-smoking and offer a microwave and refrigerator. Swim year round in our seasonal outdoor pool or indoor pool/hot tub. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in our Victorian Breakfast Cottage (built in 1880). Our on-site cocktail lounge, the Reliance Mine Saloon, offers an unique experience to cap off your day of touring in Gettysburg. For larger families or adults traveling together, try our rooms with three double beds. Free WIFI. Family owned and operated by the Witt family since 1956. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing