We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've stayed here several times and watched the quality and service gradually decline. It has now reached a point at which we won't return. They have completely lost focus on the comfort and convenience of the guest and now rather focus on more and more rules. I don't know if they have changed management or what their problem is but it's no longer my problem. I strongly recommend you plan other accommodations in Gettysburg. There are many fine hotels, but this isn't one if them.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montanadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

I would like to respond to your review but have no idea what your issues may have been. We have not changed our policies or management. If you could please contact me to give me a bit more information on what may have caused you to not enjoy your visit I would appreciate it. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay. If there was a problem I would like to address it. Please feel free to contact me on our toll free number-1-866-953-4483. Thank you.

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 904 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Love this hotel!! It is close to everything. Staff was very helpful and nice. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was awesome and very spacious. Will stay here on our next trip to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for letting us know how clean and comfortable the room was and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate your comments and hope that you be back to see us again!! It would be our pleasure! Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here two nights; the hotel is older, as some of the other reviews have mentioned. It is 1 mile from the Gettysburg visitors center, and within walking distance of several restaurants in town. There is free parking here, and a continental breakfast (think Holiday Inn express, or Hampton Inn) Staff was pleasant, and happy to have us, rooms are older, but exceptionally clean, would stay here again if in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side of the hotel, so noise wasn't a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stop to see us again. It would be our pleasure!! Have a wonderful Memorial Day!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is an older hotel but its had some remodeling. Room had newer fixtures and linens, it was nice, clean and smelled fresh. Personnel were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good too! Will stay here again when in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeanette772 L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit. We have a wonderful staff here and they do an excellent job of keeping the facility clean and up to date. Each year during the off season we do renovations to the property and the rooms. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is always ready to help guests in any way they can. We hope you will visit with us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

In a previous review (Sept. 2012) I had given a negative review, mainly due to extreme noise issues (thin walls) in the hotel annex. This time I was sharing a room with friends in the main hotel, and I'm happy to say that it was MUCH better. You couldn't hear your neighbor breath! I was happy with every aspect of the experience, with the exception of one thing: the wi-fi is spotty at best, and only worked in the lobby or very close to it. They said that it was an iPad issue. Considering that the majority of tablet owners use iPads, I recommend having that looked into. It was frustrating not being able to use my iPad during my stay, and it is one of the amenities advertised.
But otherwise, I give this trip a high rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan46480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your return visit with us. We do apologize for the problem with the internet connection. The hotel is concrete block construction which makes the signal spotty. Due to this issue we decided it was worth the extra expense of installing both wired and wireless for our guests. We have Ethernet cables available for use at the front desk. The wireless signal is stronger in the lobby area and also on 2nd floor. It is a challenge. We were happy to hear that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. Please stop and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hello i am Emily Rose and i highly recommend this hotel. The staff are so friendly. From the time you arrive and see Sara's smiling face to the great Housekeeping such as Sam and Karen to the management staff Norma. The place is so clean and a great place for your furry friends. I will stay here every trip to Gettysburg. The place is so clean i can say enough of this wonderful hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyRose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is always nice to hear that we have a happy guest. I will let the rest of the staff know how much you enjoy your visits with us. They love knowing that their hard work is appreciated! Thank you again. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for the Greyhounds in Gettysburg Convention. What a nice hotel! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The place was spotless. The whole hotel had nice "touches" that let you know this is a family place. Breakfast was good. The best part was how accommodating they were to our dogs. The whole staff would stop, pet them, and talk with us - really nice. The room was great, and while a pet friendly room, it was immaculately clean with no funny smell. There is a nice grassy area behind the hotel that is the pet relief area. It was very clean and well maintained. The hotel was a perfect spot for seeing anything in the town. O'Rourke's, across the street, allows dogs in the outdoor seating, so it was very convenient for dinner (their crab pretzel is super tasty!). We also ordered out from Tommy's Pizza on a rainy night as it was close by and easy to pick up the pizza. We had a relaxing evening eating some great pizza in the room. The only negative is that the beds were very firm, which is okay if you don't mind a firm bed.

Room Tip: We have an elderly dog, so we needed to be close to the pet relief area. They put us in room 242, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Travel_DoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We love our furry friends here at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! We look forward to the greyhound event every year. The owners and staff at this hotel are animal lovers. Thank you for noticing what a wonderful job the housekeepers do when cleaning a pet room. We hope that you will come back to see us soon. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the wonderful review. Please give your pups a pat on the head from all of us here!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,132 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#18 of 28 in Gettysburg
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $79 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing