We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older - but nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is an older hotel but its had some remodeling. Room had newer fixtures and linens, it was nice, clean and smelled fresh. Personnel were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good too! Will stay here again when in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeanette772 L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit. We have a wonderful staff here and they do an excellent job of keeping the facility clean and up to date. Each year during the off season we do renovations to the property and the rooms. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is always ready to help guests in any way they can. We hope you will visit with us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 902 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

In a previous review (Sept. 2012) I had given a negative review, mainly due to extreme noise issues (thin walls) in the hotel annex. This time I was sharing a room with friends in the main hotel, and I'm happy to say that it was MUCH better. You couldn't hear your neighbor breath! I was happy with every aspect of the experience, with the exception of one thing: the wi-fi is spotty at best, and only worked in the lobby or very close to it. They said that it was an iPad issue. Considering that the majority of tablet owners use iPads, I recommend having that looked into. It was frustrating not being able to use my iPad during my stay, and it is one of the amenities advertised.
But otherwise, I give this trip a high rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan46480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your return visit with us. We do apologize for the problem with the internet connection. The hotel is concrete block construction which makes the signal spotty. Due to this issue we decided it was worth the extra expense of installing both wired and wireless for our guests. We have Ethernet cables available for use at the front desk. The wireless signal is stronger in the lobby area and also on 2nd floor. It is a challenge. We were happy to hear that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. Please stop and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hello i am Emily Rose and i highly recommend this hotel. The staff are so friendly. From the time you arrive and see Sara's smiling face to the great Housekeeping such as Sam and Karen to the management staff Norma. The place is so clean and a great place for your furry friends. I will stay here every trip to Gettysburg. The place is so clean i can say enough of this wonderful hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyRose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is always nice to hear that we have a happy guest. I will let the rest of the staff know how much you enjoy your visits with us. They love knowing that their hard work is appreciated! Thank you again. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for the Greyhounds in Gettysburg Convention. What a nice hotel! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The place was spotless. The whole hotel had nice "touches" that let you know this is a family place. Breakfast was good. The best part was how accommodating they were to our dogs. The whole staff would stop, pet them, and talk with us - really nice. The room was great, and while a pet friendly room, it was immaculately clean with no funny smell. There is a nice grassy area behind the hotel that is the pet relief area. It was very clean and well maintained. The hotel was a perfect spot for seeing anything in the town. O'Rourke's, across the street, allows dogs in the outdoor seating, so it was very convenient for dinner (their crab pretzel is super tasty!). We also ordered out from Tommy's Pizza on a rainy night as it was close by and easy to pick up the pizza. We had a relaxing evening eating some great pizza in the room. The only negative is that the beds were very firm, which is okay if you don't mind a firm bed.

Room Tip: We have an elderly dog, so we needed to be close to the pet relief area. They put us in room 242, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Travel_DoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We love our furry friends here at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! We look forward to the greyhound event every year. The owners and staff at this hotel are animal lovers. Thank you for noticing what a wonderful job the housekeepers do when cleaning a pet room. We hope that you will come back to see us soon. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the wonderful review. Please give your pups a pat on the head from all of us here!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

IF you are spending days in Gettysburg i highly recommend this hotel. Mike , Emily and i stay here everytime we visit Gettysburg. The staff are so friendly and will assist you when needed. The rooms are very clean, I cant say enough of this place. The breakfast is very good. We always hate to leave. Thank you so much Norma, Sara, Little Maria, Maria, Kim, Karen and I know i missed some. See you soon keep up the great work. BTW i am sooooooo shocked to see any negitive reviews. When i do they must be talking about another hotel or they are individuals no one can satisfy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

What a wonderful review!! Your loyalty to the 1863 Inn is certainly appreciated. Thank you for always noticing how hard we work to make sure that everything is clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. It is always a pleasure to see our friends return. Please give Emily Rose an extra pat on the head from all of us here! Hope to see you soon! As I said, it is always a pleasure having you with us. (I think we enjoy your visits as much as you do!!)

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place has become our second home. My best friend and I been ghost hunting for the past 11 years and we stumbled across this gem in October 2011 and have been coming back ever since. We have stayed during peak season through off peak and the service, staff and accommodations are superb now matter when you stay. I joined their "loyalty rewards" which gives excellent benefits, its a free service and money saving if you plan to visit Gettysburg frequently. They also have coffee, hot chocolate, tea in the lobby available 24 hrs and a great breakfast!!!! The rooms are super clean, if you forget something? Toothbrush, shampoo no worries just go to the front desk and they will get it for you. They are centrally located to great restaurants, shops, and the history Gettysburg battlefield all within walking distance. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a room on the backside of the building.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 63joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoy your visits with us. We realize that there are many choices when it comes to lodging in Gettysburg and are glad that you have decided to make us your home away from home. The staff here does a great job and they enjoy making our guests happy. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you will be back soon. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We love hearing that we have another satisfied customer! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the 1863 Inn on a Saturday night of a busy spring weekend in Gettysburg. I was pleased to find a decent hotel on short notice (less than 24 hrs. before check in) at a price near $100 per night thru Priceline. Most other hotels in the area were either sold out or asking much higher rate with a minimum two night stay. The room was spacious and clean and fit the bill of what I wanted: a close in, clean place to stay in between two days of hiking and biking in and around Gettysburg.

Room Tip: During times when there is heavy motorcycle traffic in Gettysburg (nice weather weekends in the spri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheddVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. That is most important when choosing lodging. We hope that you will stop and see us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $81 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing